Old 03-08-06, 11:50   #1

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut
Football And Gangsters

New book out by someone call Graham Johnstone about the link between football in the UK and organised crime. Players like Wayne Rooney,Rio Ferdinand, Steven Gerrard and Robbie Fowler have all been blackmailed and threatened at some point. Interesting read.
Old 03-08-06, 11:52   #2

Naked Chef has a spectacular aura about
Re: Football And Gangsters

Originally Posted by Cantona
New book out by someone call Graham Johnstone about the link between football in the UK and organised crime. Players like Wayne Rooney,Rio Ferdinand, Steven Gerrard and Robbie Fowler have all been blackmailed and threatened at some point. Interesting read.

Is that the title of it. Sounds like it might be a good read.

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-06, 11:57   #3

Originally Posted by Naked Chef
Is that the title of it. Sounds like it might be a good read.
Football and Gangsters is the title
Old 03-08-06, 12:02   #4

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Cantona
Players like Wayne Rooney,Rio Ferdinand, Steven Gerrard and Robbie Fowler have all been blackmailed and threatened at some point. Interesting read.
Sounds an interesting read. I'm not surprised that the scousers have had problems. Especially slum lord Fowler.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 03-08-06, 12:43   #5

nabser will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by hibadelic
Sounds an interesting read. I'm not surprised that the scousers have had problems. Especially slum lord Fowler.
Surely you dont mean GOD.

nabser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-06, 18:35   #6
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

I wonder how much of the problems - linkage between footballers and gangsters are related to or a result of gambling?
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-06, 18:41   #7

Originally Posted by Burbank Lilywhite
I wonder how much of the problems - linkage between footballers and gangsters are related to or a result of gambling?
Very high , I'd bet my house on it
Old 03-08-06, 20:10   #8

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs
heard a wee story just last night about chic charnley. alledgedly partick were training near possil in glasgow when 2 'heavies' approached him on the training ground. he skelped both of them. not happy witht that, they returned soon after with baseball bats. true to form, charnley took one of the bats and gave both of them it.
when the police arrived the folowing day at firhill for info on the incident, john lambie said he never saw anything and anyway, it couldn't have been charnley, he was off sick and wasn't at training the day before.
as i say, i heard it 2nd hand last night, so don't know how much truth in it there is. but going by other 'similar' stories i've heard. it wouldn't surprise me.

There's another version of this story that says the guys arrived brandishing a sword. Charnley took it from them, then chased them, waving the sword above his head. I'm sure it was Gordon Rae who recounted the tale from his days at Firhill.
The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-06, 20:11   #9

One of the stories is about a former Rangers and Scotland player who sexually assaulted the daughter of a Glasgow Gangland figure and the retubution that followed.
Old 03-08-06, 20:15   #10

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

there's another story that whilst at hibs, 2 wee neds tried to nick his car. he grabbed mons meg and tried to blow them up using old world war II shells that came ashore at granton and lodged themselves in the willie muir pub wall as bullets.
You've taken that too far ............. as usual
The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-06, 01:08   #11

Shearer is on the way to a first team debut

there's another story that whilst at hibs, 2 wee neds tried to nick his car. he grabbed mons meg and tried to blow them up using old world war II shells that came ashore at granton and lodged themselves in the willie muir pub wall as bullets.

Shearer is offline   Reply With Quote