Old 31-07-06, 22:36   #1

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut
American Chants

sorry if its been posted before. stole it of the beebs board.
tortohibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-06, 23:38   #2

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about
Re: American Chants

Excellent wee chant, and a good question. Where in Ireland is Boston though?
Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-06, 01:50   #3

*chops is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
Excellent wee chant, and a good question. Where in Ireland is Boston though?
I'm not sure it's fair to compare the exploitation of the Irish connection of the Boston Celtics with that of the soapies. Sure, they have the same name, but I think that's where the similarities end.
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-06, 02:02   #4
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Originally Posted by *chops
I'm not sure it's fair to compare the exploitation of the Irish connection of the Boston Celtics with that of the soapies. Sure, they have the same name, but I think that's where the similarities end.
A more racist city than Boston you would be hard pressed to find. They just use the Kennedy connection to have a "get out of jail card". As recently as the late 90's a man who after killing his wife went to the first police station and reported a black man attacked them. Police response "Let's all go to Roxbury and round everyone up." Typical Boston response.

The city of Boston has done more to damage the view of Irish American's and prolong the troubles than any of the politicasses back home. In fact they would all fit in rather nicely in Boston and nobody would even notice.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-06, 13:43   #5
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Burbank Lilywhite
A more racist city than Boston you would be hard pressed to find. They just use the Kennedy connection to have a "get out of jail card". As recently as the late 90's a man who after killing his wife went to the first police station and reported a black man attacked them. Police response "Let's all go to Roxbury and round everyone up." Typical Boston response.

The city of Boston has done more to damage the view of Irish American's and prolong the troubles than any of the politicasses back home. In fact they would all fit in rather nicely in Boston and nobody would even notice.
I read a thing ages ago about how the IRA and its symbols were an important component in the identity of right wing racist street gangs in Boston. Is this true?
Old 01-08-06, 16:35   #6
Survivor Radge

Originally Posted by HenryLB
I read a thing ages ago about how the IRA and its symbols were an important component in the identity of right wing racist street gangs in Boston. Is this true?
I know in South Boston the "Southies" liked to view themselves as the North American wing of the Provo's. South Boston was almost exclusively Irish, while North Boston was almost exclusively Italian, Roxbury was the predominant African American neighbourhood and they did not mix, and when they did it was violent.

I will maintain until the day I stand before my maker that the Kennedy's are nothing more than a unholy bastard love child of Gerry Adams and Ian Paisely. But because they sold this "camalot" sh*te to the American public they get away with murder.

If the crown was serious about bringing peace to the north would demand their extradition and have them in Old Bailey right now to face charges of murder as their fingerprints are on almost every weapon the provo's used. The last decent one of the lot was Joseph who died in combat in WWII. After that the old fella begin the mother of all spin campaigns to build their "legacy". Because of them men like Whitey Bulger prospered and good people were hurt or killed on both sides of the Atlantic.

And up until about 1984ish the running gag about the Boston Celtics and Red Sox use to go like this:

"Where are all the blacks in the Celtic's/Red Sox?"

"There on their feet."

They played in black shoes, and had the least amount of African American athletes in their sporting teams, of course there was no racism their just weren't any good African American athletes to sign and play for them. I guess all the other basketball and baseball teams felt they were good enough for them, they must have had higher standards. Well that and they made minimal attempts to integrate but hey its Camelot and the Kennedy's are here so it must be okay. Bastards the lot of them.
Old 01-08-06, 18:20   #7

Here, here - and this is the source of the chip I have on my shoulder about outsiders sticking their nose in the NI conflict.

Never did us f**k all good in the past except fill cemeteries.

@rseholes.

Edit: 'Where in Ireland is Glasgow', sung by Boston Celtics fans. I don't get it????

Old 01-08-06, 18:51   #8
Survivor Radge

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby
Edit: 'Where in Ireland is Glasgow', sung by Boston Celtics fans. I don't get it????
Taking the piss out them for calling their team Celtic, in Boston Celtic fan's mind Boston is just doon the road from Dublin. Glasgow is part of the United Kingdom of Great Britian and Northern Ireland and subject to the rule of the Queen and therefore unworthy to call themselves "Celtic".

Go figure, and if anyone can understand that logic please let me know because it escapes me completely.
Old 01-08-06, 19:17   #9

Originally Posted by Burbank Lilywhite
Taking the piss out them for calling their team Celtic, in Boston Celtic fan's mind Boston is just doon the road from Dublin. Glasgow is part of the United Kingdom of Great Britian and Northern Ireland and subject to the rule of the Queen and therefore unworthy to call themselves "Celtic".

Go figure, and if anyone can understand that logic please let me know because it escapes me completely.
I was going wrong by trying to applying logic to those bucketheads!

Old 01-08-06, 20:02   #10
Survivor Radge

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby
I was going wrong by trying to applying logic to those bucketheads!
I look at them and shake my head thinking 5 million sperm and you were the fastest?
Old 02-08-06, 16:35   #11
Saintee's Radge

part/time supporter is on the way to a first team debut

The Red Sox were the last established ML team to play an African American for the first time, fully 12 years after the Dodgers played Jackie Robinson and the Indians played Larry Doby.

part/time supporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-06, 00:26   #12

In that clip, I thought it was fans of the "New England Revolution" singing it to the Celtic FC (ie, the soapies) fans at a friendly match...I took that as them having a dig at the Celtic fans for waving tricolours, and generally being "Thebestfansintheworldbytheway".

I might have missed another clip of Boston Celtics fans singing it though
Old 17-08-06, 00:46   #13

And up until about 1984ish the running gag about the Boston Celtics and Red Sox use to go like this:

"Where are all the blacks in the Celtic's/Red Sox?"

"There on their feet."

They played in black shoes, and had the least amount of African American athletes in their sporting teams, of course there was no racism their just weren't any good African American athletes to sign and play for them. I guess all the other basketball and baseball teams felt they were good enough for them, they must have had higher standards. Well that and they made minimal attempts to integrate but hey its Camelot and the Kennedy's are here so it must be okay. Bastards the lot of them.
I clearly don't know as much about this subject as you do, and already I've a feeling I'm getting in over my head, but here goes...

To be fair to the Celtics, one of their greatest ever players is Bill Russel. Hell, he's one of the greatest players to ever play basketball, as this, taken from the Celtics website, illustrates -

Russell anchored the Celtics teams that won nine, eight in succession, NBA world championship titles in 1957 and from 1959 through 1966, and two more in consecutive seasons in 1968 and 1969.

I know that this is just one example, and doesn't prove that the Celtics are not, or were not, a partially discriminatory organisation, but it's a pretty significant one, and he came in a long time before the '84 watershed date you mention. Infact, his number was retired by the Celtics in 1972, 12 years prior to that date.

Also, in the early 80's, the Celtics had Larry Bird. If you had the Bird man, would you care about anything else?! The Celtics have a history of great white players, which might point towards a degree of exclusion in their drafting policy. I, as someone who is entirely ignorant of social/political conditions in Boston which might have impacted upon the Celtic's signing policy, would not attribute this to racism however. I'd be more inclined to think that the Celtics scouts thought the guys they drafted were the best available to them, and a look at the names of those who have had their jersey retired by the Celtics shows that they got it right more often than not - just look at some of the names - Larry Bird, Kevin McHale, Dave Cowens, John Havlicek, Bob Cousy.

I don't think that a lack of black players makes an organisation racist. Look at Hibs just now, our squad's not exactly brimming with black guys, yet I would never think of Hibs as a racist organisation, nor would, hopefully, anyone else. Many older people that I encounter, even my gran, who is not a remotely nasty person, have attitudes and ideas ingrained in them which, to the modern mind, smack of racism. Perhaps the Celtics were run by people of that generation, and earlier generations, and did not consider what they were doing to be racist.
Old 17-08-06, 01:11   #14

'Where in Ireland is Glasgow', sung by Boston Celtics fans. I don't get it????
Still not sure what this was posted for?

Old 17-08-06, 01:35   #15
Survivor Radge

That's not to say that either the Selltics and Red Sox didn't have African-American players on their books. They did, however it has always came across as "just enough" to keep the spotlight off them.

Now I have to give credit where its due and the Boston Bruins Hockey Club were the first professional hockey team to integrate in North America when they signed Willie O'Ree to a contract in 1958.

Do I personally think the individuals who ran the day to day of the Selltics and Red Sox were bigots and racists. I can't answer that however I do believe that they were very sensitive to the feelings of the general ticket buying public and took that into account when making personnel decisions.

Among some sports journalists in America there is saying that "Boston is the northern most southern city".

My point is based on my experiences is if the board of Hibs decided after hearing a segment of its supporters make racist chants, or display openly hostile reactions to athletes of colour and then decided to sign the bare minium required to keep the spotlight off them then they would be just like the management of the Selltics and Red Sox.

The ticket buying public in Boston for both the Selltics and Red Sox weren't integrated, were predominately white, didn't want to integrate, didn't want their teams integrated any more than absolutely necessary and the teams management acted accordingly.
Old 17-08-06, 09:21   #16

Still not sure what this was posted for?
It's the chant being sung in the clip in the first post of this thread.