Half Hung Radge
First ever artist on TOTP???
With the end of an era this week and the demise of TOTP's..
We (in work) were trying to find out who was the First ever artist to perform on the iconic BBC show? And who was the first band/artist that you remember performing?? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Re: First ever artist on TOTP???
Earliest I can recall is Slade
Half Hung Radge
I was never a music watching guy but I do remeber A-HA..
And have been told that i seen the Undertones
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I remember being very young and watching Alvin Startdust singing My coo ca choo (sp) I was terrified of him.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I loved the song and it was the first record I bought but he was waay too scary. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I watched TOTP every week from the age of about 7. I think the Sweet or Slade were the first bands I can remember being on it. Also mind seeing Marc Bolan and T-Rex on it.
i think it was the hucklebuck-whoever sung that
Grumpy Auld Wimmin wi ATTITUDE ya Radges
Glad to say it was MY choice of telly - I have four brothers
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. and it was my pick when we got a telly :YAYYY: Mid to late 60's and I can remember the Hollies, Beatles, Manfred Mann and loads mare Cannae rember the first but I remember buying those 'lurid' !! (Black and ....something garish for the print) songbooks To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Gave ye every word tae the songs To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I'm way to auld To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
NaeTechno, nae argument here.
Same basic background. Think you may be referring to the 'Record Song Book' which my elder sisters used to buy during the Beatles/Stones/Kinks period. Still got a couple of copies here that I couldnae chuck, sheer magic. One lesser hit and forty-nine complete misses per issue but expertly annotated: you always knew who wrote and produced the fifty 'winners'. And dinnae say you're old! (Wonder how auld I am....) How the hell can you help how old you are? I cannae even start to accuse folk of ageism cos I don't see it as an issue unless, whatever age, you are a bit insecure about summat. Only bright, quickly-mature youngsters (and the rest of the over thirties) appreciate this. I think I was one once, so there To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. There must be more out there amongst the new Bounce zitt generation? Or are we just saddled with sad "sure thing, grandad" posters nowadays? FFS. HS.
Blanket Wearing Radge
My good and kind poppickers I do remember the wonderful sight of the good and kind Mr Tony Burrows appearing 3 times on the same night on a TOTP show in 1970.
Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes) - Edison Lighthouse My Baby Loves Lovin' - White Plains United We Stand - The Brotherhood of Man [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] Don't you wish the EastStand Eunochs would sing wholesome stuff like this of a game. Instant Karmas's gona get you. gandhi |
I saw that documentary too in another life, nae doot.
Tony Burrows for CHAIRMAN. NOW! geddit? chairman now... i'll get me long-length leather roadie coat...