Old 18-07-06, 19:52   #1
Barbary Corsair

TariqE is on the way to a first team debut
Israel blames Iran for kidnapped soldiers..

Just seen on C4 news.....

....Call me cynical, but perhaps the US and the west will not have to go wading in to Iran to stop their nuclear program as Israel will do it.....

There is a watcher over every soul.
TariqE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-06, 20:00   #2

Re: Israel blames Iran for kidnapped soldiers..

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs
i think right now, israel is up for a fight with anyone. i think most of them in the area will be shitting themselves just now.
To be honest Jimmy I cant see Iran shitting themselves over this. It seems that a single country in the region cant take israel by themselves but if one or two join together who knows. Its pretty scary and hopefully it wont escalate further but if it does then I think Iran will be looking to its neighbours for alliance before they wade in (assuming thats the intention). Cant help thinking that, although some people are blaming Israel, Hezbollah exascerbated an already dodgy situ by kidnapping israeli soldiers and could stop this if they let them go. Might only result in a temporary ceasefire but it would be a start. However its not going to happen is it

Old 18-07-06, 20:32   #3

I Israel go wading into Iran, how long before Syria steam up the back passage, so to speak?
Old 18-07-06, 20:36   #4

Originally Posted by Dub
To be honest Jimmy I cant see Iran shitting themselves over this. It seems that a single country in the region cant take israel by themselves but if one or two join together who knows. Its pretty scary and hopefully it wont escalate further but if it does then I think Iran will be looking to its neighbours for alliance before they wade in (assuming thats the intention). Cant help thinking that, although some people are blaming Israel, Hezbollah exascerbated an already dodgy situ by kidnapping israeli soldiers and could stop this if they let them go. Might only result in a temporary ceasefire but it would be a start. However its not going to happen is it
According to a book I read recently Israel were fully intending to use nuclear weapons on Syria & Egypt if their armies kept on advancing in the Yom Kippur War in 1973. I think if they felt threatened they would have no hesitation in using them against Iran.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 18-07-06, 20:38   #5

alnewhaven is on the way to a first team debut

After Egypt agreed peace with Israel the other Arab countries did not have the military muscle to take on the Israelis.
Iran is a distance away from Israel , they would need to operate through Syria anyway. If they want to go nuclear, well the Israelis already have the weapons and delivery system to hit first.

Tactics at the moment are based on the knowledge that whatever the provocation, the Israelis will use a disproportionate response, recruiting more to Hezbollah etc.
alnewhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-06, 20:38   #6

Originally Posted by wee 162
According to a book I read recently Israel were fully intending to use nuclear weapons on Syria & Egypt if their armies kept on advancing in the Yom Kippur War in 1973. I think if they felt threatened they would have no hesitation in using them against Iran.
I'm no convinced that you can defend your homeland against 2 or 3 determined enemies with nuclear weapons Al.

How many do they possess anyway, can't be too many!
Old 18-07-06, 20:41   #7

They were. Although they have never admitted owning the capability, Golda Meir 'hinted' that if the Arab armies advanced much further, Cairo, Damascus and Amman would cease to exist. Result: Soviets sens nukes to Egypt, US on highest DEFCON level since Cuba.

They have had the capbility since the late '60s, how many weapons do they need?
Old 18-07-06, 20:48   #8

Originally Posted by cavalier
About 150 up? See [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]
Old 18-07-06, 20:50   #9

Originally Posted by alnewhaven
About 150 up? See [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]

Christ didnae realise it was that many!!!

Take back what i said, i thought it was single figures!!!
Old 18-07-06, 20:50   #10

I'm no convinced that you can defend your homeland against 2 or 3 determined enemies with nuclear weapons Al.

According to the book I was reading a significantly higher megatonnage of nuclear weaponry than the UK. So enough to wipe out every single person in the world more than once.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 18-07-06, 20:59   #11

According to the book I was reading a significantly higher megatonnage of nuclear weaponry than the UK. So enough to wipe out every single person in the world more than once.
Just checked. Estimates are that they have nuclear weaponry amounting to 20MT. That's the equivalent of 13,000 hiroshimas in case you were wondering.

I wouldnae exactly call Israel defenceless.
Old 18-07-06, 21:01   #12

Just checked. Estimates are that they have nuclear weaponry amounting to 20MT. That's the equivalent of 13,000 hiroshimas in case you were wondering.

I wouldnae exactly call Israel defenceless.
With the hatred all around them i'd make doubly sure if it was me..
Old 18-07-06, 21:08   #13

Originally Posted by Smurf
With the hatred all around them i'd make doubly sure if it was me..
I wonder if the hatred is maybe slightly related to any other middle-eastern country which is looking to develop nuclear weapons to defend themselves against Israel being threatened with imminent destruction unless they stop
Old 18-07-06, 21:13   #14

I wonder if the hatred is maybe slightly related to any other middle-eastern country which is looking to develop nuclear weapons to defend themselves against Israel being threatened with imminent destruction unless they stop
I get your point Wee 162 and as this is an area i don't have huge knowledge ( "i think what we have here is a crossover of those who like to debate at a high level and those who wish they could." Copyright JimmyHibs) i'll not say too much but it's my impression and understanding that most neighbours don't recognise Israel and some even want them "Wiped off the map".
Old 18-07-06, 21:16   #15

I get your point Wee 162 and as this is an area i don't have huge knowledge ( "i think what we have here is a crossover of those who like to debate at a high level and those who wish they could." Copyright JimmyHibs) i'll not say too much but it's my impression and understanding that most neighbours don't recognise Israel and some even want them "Wiped off the map".
I think most do recognise Isreal nowadays smurf. Certainly Egypt do.

Mine host in the hotel roma, he's Iranian, tells me that historically Iran DOES NOT have a problem with Jews, as it is NOT an arab nation but ayrian!!!

Also the Isleali president is Iranian by birth!!!!
Old 18-07-06, 21:20   #16

I think most do recognise Isreal nowadays smurf. Certainly Egypt do.

Mine host in the hotel roma, he's Iranian, tells me that historically Iran DOES NOT have a problem with Jews, as it is NOT an arab nation but ayrian!!!

Also the Isleali president is Iranian by birth!!!!
Watched a bit of SKY News earlier on and they were in a part of Israel where Jews and Arabs live side by side. I never knew that.
Old 18-07-06, 21:23   #17

In theory possibly. In reality they are surrounded by regimes which cannot conceivably attack Israel and expect to win. It has a much bigger army than the UKs if you include reservists (which dwarfs any of its neighbours), it has better arms than every country which is not the US, and it has the unadulterated support of the worlds only superpower. Israeli vulnerability is a myth.
Old 18-07-06, 21:23   #18

Info on the president of Israel.

Old 18-07-06, 21:25   #19

Watched a bit of SKY News earlier on and they were in a part of Israel where Jews and Arabs live side by side. I never knew that.
Just don't mention the emancipation of arabs to the only democratic regime in the region...
Old 18-07-06, 21:27   #20

Israeli vulnerability is a myth.
Iran with a Nuclear arsenal with their current madman leader?