Old 02-06-06, 12:00   #1

Newhavenhibby is on the way to a first team debut
English Abuse and Media

OK so we dish a good bit of this out BUT I do feel that they give a good bit back, probably more considering they control most of the media. Recent examples:-

World Cup Goals Galore (BBC Three), last night and tonight 7pm. A Sean Lock hosts this and I think every goal ever scored against Scotland is shown with this ars*(&*& comment after every goal "byeeee". Was the Archie Gemmell goal shown? Don't know, had to switch off before I threw something at TV and did some lasting damage.

T3 Magazine (some Gadget magazine). They have a review of HD gear and every oportunity is used to mention England and a take wee swipe at Scotland (and every 'other' country), on a small portable TV, "The size is smaller than Scotland's chances of ever qualifying for a major tournament again..."

Nice of T3 to include a FREEPOST address for US Scottish readers interested in "subscribing" though:-

T3 Subscriptions
Freepost RLSC-SXSE-SKKT
Unit 4
Tower House
Sovereign Park
Market Harborough
Leicestershire LE16 9EF

Make sure you send a good few just in case they get lost in the sea of flags.

Last edited by Newhavenhibby; 03-06-06 at 11:49.
Newhavenhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-06, 11:51   #2

Newhavenhibby is on the way to a first team debut
Re: English Abuse and Media

Don't care then...?
Newhavenhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-06, 12:06   #3

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Newhavenhibby
Don't care then...?
We've discussed it and decided,Na we're no interested
Only kiddin Al
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
Old 03-06-06, 12:09   #4
Arty Radge

Bridie is on the way to a first team debut

I care Newhaven.

It makes my blood boil too.
I got mighty hacked off by (the usually very funny) Sean Lock. Once or twice was amusing but he went into overkill.

And as for that shower on GMTV especially Penny Thingy , it is exactly their attitude towards the Scots that makes us want to support anybody except Engurland.

Personally, I am sick to death of the nation of Scotland being ridiculed and looked down upon by those who have no reason to feel superior.
Old 03-06-06, 12:14   #5

©stretch is a jewel in the rough©stretch is a jewel in the rough

It gets on my nerves aswell.
But I just think of the pleasure, and smug grin I will have oan ma coupon, when it all goes t*ts up, as per usual.

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-06, 12:30   #6

greencol will become famous soon enough

Was trying to think of something profound to write but the best i can come up with is---

Fuc& 'em. Arrogant :wa**kers
Old 03-06-06, 17:55   #7
Arty Radge

Bridie is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by greencol
Was trying to think of something profound to write but the best i can come up with is---

I actually think that sums it all up rather well!!!
Old 03-06-06, 18:07   #8

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is on the way to a first team debut

f*ck the english, mon anybody who plays them

2-0 to trinidad and tobago, you heard it here first :YAYYY:

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-06, 18:45   #9

Originally Posted by greencol

they moan about us not supporting them but its simple i don't support them because i'm not english but i support scotland because i'm scottish not exactly complicated
Old 03-06-06, 19:15   #10

Originally Posted by Tully

they moan about us not supporting them but its simple i don't support them because i'm not english but i support scotland because i'm scottish not exactly complicated
Yeh i am the same, i am scottish why would i support England half of my family may be English but that still does not mean i should support them .... i am proud to be Scottish and always will be Paraguay to beat England in the 1st match I will of course be supporting Brazil to win the whole tournament as they are in my eyes the best team in the competition
Old 06-06-06, 15:10   #11
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Bridie
Personally, I am sick to death of the nation of Scotland being ridiculed and looked down upon by those who have no reason to feel superior.
I don't really like the jingoism and anti-Scots stuff (although I don't seem to see as much of it as some around here ) but you have to admit that England have a raft of pretty decent reasons to feel superior when it comes to football.
Old 06-06-06, 15:59   #12

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by HenryLB
but you have to admit that England have a raft of pretty decent reasons to feel superior when it comes to football.
Aye, but they're still a bunch ae fannys though...

;)
Old 06-06-06, 16:06   #13
Saintee's Radge

part/time supporter is on the way to a first team debut

you have to admit that England have a raft of pretty decent reasons to feel superior when it comes to football.
Superior to whom? Their record in major competitions is pish compared to similar countries, with the possible exception of Spain.

Some countries with far less resources - Denmark, Greece, Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, Poland, Belgium - have won or come close to winning tournaments more often than England have since 1966.

There must be some sort of deep insecurity that makes them feel the need to gloat over a relatively unsuccessful smaller neighbour.

part/time supporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-06, 16:21   #14
On the Wagon Radge

Originally Posted by part/time supporter
Superior to whom? Their record in major competitions is pish compared to similar countries, with the possible exception of Spain.

Some countries with far less resources - Denmark, Greece, Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, Poland, Belgium - have won or come close to winning tournaments more often than England have since 1966.

There must be some sort of deep insecurity that makes them feel the need to gloat over a relatively unsuccessful smaller neighbour.

What have any of those countries got to do with it? Bridie said "I am sick to death of the nation of Scotland being ridiculed and looked down upon by those who have no reason to feel superior", And I just pointed out that in football, and indeed in almost all sports bar curling, England has good reason to feel superior to Scotland.

Personally I think the insecurity is far more evident on the Scots' side. It's extremely rare to find English people cheering on the opposition in Scotland games. Many will even support Scotland. So I'd adjust your final par slightly:

There must be some sort of deep insecurity that makes them feel the need to gloat over a relatively successful larger neighbour
Old 06-06-06, 16:26   #15

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

What have any of those countries got to do with it? Bridie said "I am sick to death of the nation of Scotland being ridiculed and looked down upon by those who have no reason to feel superior", And I just pointed out that in football, and indeed in almost all sports bar curling, England has good reason to feel superior to Scotland.

Personally I think the insecurity is far more evident on the Scots' side. It's extremely rare to find English people cheering on the opposition in Scotland games. Many will even support Scotland. So I'd adjust your final par slightly:

There must be some sort of deep insecurity that makes them feel the need to gloat over a relatively successful larger neighbour
Have you got your flak jacket and helmet with you Henry?
Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-06, 16:31   #16
Saintee's Radge

What have any of those countries got to do with it? Bridie said "I am sick to death of the nation of Scotland being ridiculed and looked down upon by those who have no reason to feel superior",
I would suggest that when they gloat, they tend to pick on us rather than other European countries. This is because their record is pish for a country with their resources. They could hardly pick on other European countries, because a lot of them have won at least one major tournament since 1966. Which is more than can be said for England.
part/time supporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-06, 16:34   #17
On the Wagon Radge

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
Have you got your flak jacket and helmet with you Henry?
I'm twenty feet underground in a bunker.

Actually I ought to have added that despite being English I don't really care about the national football team. In fact I sometimes get a sneaky enjoyment from their tribulations because I know it'll upset the kind of people who I rather like to be upset. I suppose this is a similar reaction to the one most Scots have, except that for Scots I get the impression that

-- the image of an English person, at least for the purposes of football, is all stereotype: St George sporting, Essex dwelling semi-racist Sun-reading cabbie. These are the same people whose discomfort makes me feel all warm inside as well, but there aren't actually that many of them

-- it gives Scottish people someone to support in football tournaments. Which is enjoyable.
Old 06-06-06, 16:36   #18

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Bollox, it's fitba rivalry. I mean if an English club plays the herz in Europe this coming season, I'm certain 99.99% Hibbies would want the Sassenachs to win.
So it's the same with international teams you want your neighbour to get gubbed.
And BTW what exactly have they done at international level ? - won the World Cup (all games at Wembley) courtesy of a goal that was never a goal !
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-06, 16:38   #19

Johnny Kash is on the way to a first team debut

And lets face it, they are preparing to take part in the worlds greatest sporting spectacle. Do they honestly give a rocks if us Scots support them or not??
Johnny Kash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-06, 16:39   #20
On the Wagon Radge

Originally Posted by part/time supporter
I would suggest that when they gloat, they tend to pick on us rather than other European countries. This is because their record is pish for a country with their resources. They could hardly pick on other European countries, because a lot of them have won at least one major tournament since 1966. Which is more than can be said for England.
I'm not going to start arguing about England's performances since 1966 - except to point out that that's a convenient starting point if you're going to disparage them - because first, I don't care about them all that much and second, I rather agree with you.

However, if you think that England, enraged and frustrated by their lack of success in international football, flailing around for a scapegoat like a blinded bully, takes it all out on their tiny, brave, undeserving neighbours, then you're wrong.
Old 06-06-06, 16:42   #21
On the Wagon Radge

Originally Posted by Pilrig
Bollox, it's fitba rivalry. I mean if an English club plays the herz in Europe this coming season, I'm certain 99.99% Hibbies would want the Sassenachs to win.
How does that refute what I said?

So it's the same with international teams you want your neighbour to get gubbed.
How does that explain England's lack of excitement about Scotland getting beaten?

And BTW what exactly have they done at international level ? - won the World Cup (all games at Wembley) courtesy of a goal that was never a goal !
Compared to Scotland, whose entire international record seems to be composed of a little ginger bloke scoring a goal and a dodgy song, a fair bit.
Old 06-06-06, 16:48   #22
Saintee's Radge

I'm not going to start arguing about England's performances since 1966 - except to point out that that's a convenient starting point if you're going to disparage them - because first, I don't care about them all that much and second, I rather agree with you.
Even if you look at their whole international history, it's still poor.

Their only major test before 1950 was playing Scotland each year. The record between the sides just favours England (about five more wins in more than 100 games).

Since 1950 and their entry to international play, their record is pisspoor. They've only once gone beyond the last 8 in a World Cup outside England, and they've never gone beyond the last 8 in a European tournament outside England.

However, if you think that England, enraged and frustrated