Scottish league reforms
Whats everyone opinion on the proposed changes in the scottish league?
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I feel that a whole overhaul should take place. That includes the SPL. Get rid of this daft split and simplify it. Wonder what all the mediocre teams within the SPL feel about the playoff plan between 11th in the premier and 2nd, 3rd, 4th from the first. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. United, Falkirk, Dunfermline and St.Mirren will reject it hands down.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Students! Feck Che Guevara, Hail King Sauzee! |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Re: Scottish league reforms
I am all for 11th place going into a play-off. What I dont get is why include 3rd and 4th in the First division? Just make it simple. 2nd top in the first v 2nd bottom in the SPL in a play off.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
The basics were play each team home and away once, then split into to 7 team leagues playing the other teams home and away again. Two decent advantages are there isn't an odd amount of home/away splits and it ensures that the titile/europe/relegation issues aren't completed prior to the split. Couple in 2 up 2 down relegation and it seems a fairly good basis for a new league structure
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. We are hibernian fc , we hate jam tarts and we hate dundee we will fight wherever we will be, because we are the mental HFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The only team to sing about, the only team to see, the only team in Edinburgh, HibernianFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. In your Gorgie slums, you rake the bucket for something to eat, you find a dead rat and you think its a treat, in your Gorgie Slums To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Capital Greens Needs You
There just is too much a gap between adding one or two teams and four or six into the SPL.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Students! Feck Che Guevara, Hail King Sauzee! |
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Saintee's Radge
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
The best idea IMO would be to extend the SPL to 18 teams and just play each other twice. Hibs, Hearts, Rangers and Celtic will oppose this, however, because they need the income from extra derby matches. |
Don't understand the UEFA thing about number of games, I thought 38 was the maximum for top leagues, not the lower limit. There are plenty of leagues around Europe which have less games than that. In terms of changes I would make the top league 18 teams, with 1 league below it the same. Bring in the junior clubs, teams who finish below the 36th place in the league, Highland league clubs, EoS Seniors etc, and create a split regional league north and south of about 10 teams each. They play off against each other to see who wins promotion to the second division proper.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
PEG SELLING RADGE
This could be the most positive thing for Scottish football in decades. About time our top leagues stopped being a closed shop, and about time some of the diddy 2nd and 3rd division teams proved they were worth their place in the senior set up. aren't we the only league in europe with a "closed shop" set up?
Saintee's Radge
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
The SJFA are saying that their clubs don't necessarily want access to SFL.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
Is one of the main reasons for not making the SPL bigger not to do with clubs getting less money as the prize money and T.V money need to be spread out more widely. I'd love a bigger league so as it wasnt so repetitive playing the same teams all the time but if it comes at a financial cost to the league then I'd be against it.
Radge-o-tron
I'm not too bothered about the changes to the SPL and 1st Division, although in my opionon an extra relegation spot in the SPL would be a good thing - what I have wanted to see for a long time is relegation from the 3rd Division and finally it's being talked about!
With no relegation and changeover of teams the lower leagues have been totally stagnating. It's also not fair on teams like Spartans who are obviously punching above their weight in the EoS league not getting the opertunity for promotion. I would go the whole hog and have 2 relegated from the 3rd Division and 2 promoted after a playoff system featuring the winners of the EoS, Highland and other leagues. The only problem I can see this causing is travel costs. |
Plans for a complete overhaul of Scottish Fitbaw are long overdue.
I have thought for a long time why we did'nae adopt the Engerlush "pyramid" system, giving access to teams outwith the "pro" league. Teams like Albion Rovers(3rd bottom), East Fife(2nd bottom) and East Stirling(bottom) might even benefit from a "recuperating" period in a regional Junior, or East Senior, type league. There are plenty teams iin the Junior ranks who have similar, or better, facilities than some SFL teams. Some can also boast of higher gates too. As far as the SPL clubs go, well, its like turkeys voting for Xmas. Some just wont go along with it in case it they have a bad season and end up in the relegation zone. They dont give a fcuk about the state of the game as a whole, as long as they have their 3-4 games against the Infirm, that keeps them afloat. I've always thought we should go back to playing each other twice a season, bringing the SPL back up to 16 teams. This gives us 30 games a season and keeps us in with Uefa for CL place(s). Read somewhere that your top domestic division must have a minmum 30 games to satisfy the CL qualifying criteria. Playing each other twice also means we can scrap these midweek fixtures, away to Killie To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. away to ICT To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. in the middle o' the winter. Whats the matter o' having a couple o' midweek games in August or April, if they're needed at all? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. It could also mean bringing the League Cup early rounds back on a saturday, which at the moment, is what the SFL want to do with the semi's, giving it a higher profile.
PEG SELLING RADGE
you're right about certain clubs not giving a f##k too, why would say, last seasons bottom 4 vote for it? turkeys voting for christmas. 16 teams sounds ideal, might close the gap too with more tricky away games for the old squirm rather than playing teams twice at smelltic park/scumbrox. Without a doubt some 3rd division teams would vanish, but no one wants to deny them existence, they should just play in a setup more appropriate to their standing. The only thing with the juniors especially the ayrshire ones is the amount of huns who support rangers and their local junior team, if kick offs clashed that could be a problem , for them anyway.
Once we'd turned over the Edinburgh Amateurs, the Lothians were then ransacked, but then the East Seniors widnae entertain us To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
#17 | ||
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Fuck the Huns To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.