Old 27-05-06, 18:33   #1

Football Against The Enemy By Simon Kuper.

I won two copies on eBay.
If anyone fancies a copy, stick £ 3.00 in the Dnipro Appeal paypal account and pm me your address, its yours?

Its a great book!

and the

1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-06, 19:07   #2

Re: Football Against The Enemy By Simon Kuper.

Originally Posted by D.K
Whoosh, I read this one - sounds like Col on a bad day:

Sociological P**h, May 10, 2001
Reviewer: A reader

Simon Kuper might write well enough with his Oxbridge et al. education and his journalese hack credentials but I doubt that he's much of a footie fan when it boils down to it. The gadge admits as much himself. What you get is a whole series of cub-sociologese with some footie thrown in.. The Old Firm stuff is well out of date.If you want something to talk to your New Labour mates about whilst quaffing Chardonnay in Islington then buy it - you might learn something. If you fancy a readable pint of Arthur's finest before the game then do yourself a favour and buy Craig McGill's book instead.

If I had paypal and knew how to work it, without J mon's guidance, I'd buy Strach. If someone else comes along and can work it first then fair play. If, I manage to get it working tomorrow, it's yours?

Did you enter a competition
I bid on two, hoping I would get one (I rarely remember to bid last minute) and won bloody both!!

EGB rated so its good enough for me. PM me you addy its yours when it arrives. You owe the Ukrainian Bairns three squids.

Old 27-05-06, 21:53   #3

superbam is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by D.K
Simon Kuper might write well enough with his Oxbridge et al. education and his journalese hack credentials but I doubt that he's much of a footie fan when it boils down to it. The gadge admits as much himself. What you get is a whole series of cub-sociologese with some footie thrown in.. The Old Firm stuff is well out of date.If you want something to talk to your New Labour mates about whilst quaffing Chardonnay in Islington then buy it - you might learn something. If you fancy a readable pint of Arthur's finest before the game then do yourself a favour and buy Craig McGill's book instead.
Wouldnae agree with all of that, the old firm stuff is admittedly a bit daft but the rest of it is interesting. I dont think he ever pretends it to be the account of a proper football fan but more a look at the relationship between football and politics, he seems genuine enough in his interest. Easy enough to enjoy outside Islington free from such irritants.

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-06, 08:31   #4

Originally Posted by D.K
Just so as we are clear, I didn't write it. It was something I thought was so up itself, in criticising something that was so up itself, that I thought it was funny
Did ye want the book? (See above?)

Old 28-05-06, 08:41   #5

Originally Posted by D.K
Sorry, yes please Strach. I'll pm you in a bit. Had a very strange hangover, that made me get up ridiculously early and now I need to attend to the wee fella.

Speak later.

Kev
OK smokey.