Old 14-05-06, 20:59   #1

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about
Pariotism and naming bairns

Patriotism even.

This crossed my mind over the weekend.

Jordi Cruyff I think I've read is so named because he was born when Johann was playing in Barcelona. Apparently many Catalans name their son so because St Jordi is the patron saint of Catalan. The same saint is also the patron saint of Spain [Jorge] and of England too: George. This might explain why Geordie is a common name for someone called George.

But I digress. How many people named their son Andrew after the patron saint of Scotland? My brother is so called for that very reason.

Anyone any ideas who the patron saint of Edinburgh is, without looking it up?

Does Glasgow have a patron saint?

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-06, 21:02   #2
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Pariotism and naming bairns

Originally Posted by Bobby S

Jordi Cruyff I think I've read is so named because he was born when Johann was playing in Barcelona. Apparently many Catalans name their son so because St Jordi is the patron saint of Catalan. The same saint is also the patron saint of Spain [Jorge] and of England too: George. This might explain why Geordie is a common name for someone called George.

But I digress. How many people named their son Andrew after the patron saint of Scotland? My brother is so called for that very reason.

St Giles ? just a guess.

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-06, 21:07   #3

Glasgow's is St. Kentigern AKA St. Mungo who established the fine cathedral in the city.
Old 14-05-06, 21:10   #4

JamieHibby will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Daddy'O'Hibee
St Giles ? just a guess.
that would be my guess too, seems a fair bet

JamieHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-06, 21:11   #5
RmR
Prozac and Stella makes everything OK Radge

RmR is on the way to a first team debut

I think St Bernard or St Cuthbert are Edinburghs
patron saint. Used to be a Edinburgh fitae club call St.Bernards, my Grandfather was a fan.
RmR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-06, 21:13   #6

Originally Posted by RmR
St Cuthbert are Edinburghs
Did he not have the wee supermarket in Juniper Green?
Old 14-05-06, 21:19   #7
RmR

Aye and in Bread St. too
After having a wee look at a patron St.
page it looks like I was wide off the mark, won't spoil it for others though.
Old 14-05-06, 21:40   #8

nabser will become famous soon enough

The other thing about cruyff is that the catalan people at the time were not allowed to christen there kids catalan names as it was in the times of franco, but they could not do anything about cruyff as he wasnt catalan or spanish.
nabser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-06, 22:04   #9

Originally Posted by Daddy'O'Hibee
St Giles ? just a guess.
Spot on.

It's strange to me that it's not an Edinburgh badge name, considering the amount of hibbys who name their daughters Erin.

Currently working on:
Old 14-05-06, 22:09   #10

Originally Posted by nabser
The other thing about cruyff is that the catalan people at the time were not allowed to christen there kids catalan names as it was in the times of franco, but they could not do anything about cruyff as he wasnt catalan or spanish.
I never knew that:

Person names were restricted to Spanish versions of Catholic and classical names. Leftist names like Lenin and regional names like the Catalan Jordi were forbidden and even forcefully substituted in official records.
I had read a story whereby Hierro [then real madrid captain] was asked to sign an autograph for a young catalan called jordi. He signed it "to Jorge". When his dad pointed out the bairns name was Jordi, he supposedly replied "you're not in fucking Catalonia now."

Currently working on:
Old 14-05-06, 22:49   #11

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Colr
Glasgow's is St. Kentigern AKA St. Mungo who established the fine cathedral in the city.
And how many of you know it was an Edinburgh boy that started the weedge?

Thenew was the princess daughter of Loth, the king after which Lothian is named. Anyway Thenew got pregnant out of wedlock, possibly to King Loth's brother. A crime punishable by death in those days.

Loth had her thrown off Traprain Law (near Haddington) but she survived the fall.

Rather than taking her up again and throwing her off a second time they showed a bit of compassion and sent her off into the Firth of Forth in a wee dinghy type boat.

She landed at Culross in Fife and gave birth to St Kentigern who came over this way and founded Glasgow.

Apparently he said 'eh' at the end of every sentence but we soon knocked that out of him.

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-06, 22:50   #12

This might explain why Geordie is a common name for someone called George.
and Dodo but I've never understood why.
Old 14-05-06, 22:53   #13
RmR

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby
And how many of you know it was an Edinburgh boy that started the weedge?

Thenew was the princess daughter of Loth, the king after which Lothian is named. Anyway Thenew got pregnant out of wedlock, possibly to King Loth's brother. A crime punishable by death in those days.

Loth had her thrown off Traprain Law (near Haddington) but she survived the fall.

Rather than taking her up again and throwing her off a second time they showed a bit of compassion and sent her off into the Firth of Forth in a wee dinghy type boat.

She landed at Culross in Fife and gave birth to St Kentigern who came over this way and founded Glasgow.

Apparently he said 'eh' at the end of every sentence but we soon knocked that out of him.
So some bastard from Edinburgh invented the weedge.
Old 14-05-06, 23:04   #14

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by RmR

Cheers mate.

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-06, 23:07   #15
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by RmR
We sent through a team for them too, nothing changes.

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-06, 23:22   #16

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Colr
Kentigern's mum was Thenew, daughter of King Lot (after whom Lothian is named, and who was allegedly the ne
of the man known as King Arthur). When the king found out that Thenew was with child and that she refused to reveal the name of the father, he had her thrown off the side of Traprain Law. But she survived as did her son, and Kentigern went on to baptise the druid Merlin. Who's grave is reputedly at Drumelzier in Peeblesshire. Just along from Drumelzier is Stobo kirk, in the kirk is a stain-glass window showing Kentigern christening Merlin.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-06, 23:28   #17

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Patriotism even.

There's the Scottish tradition in naming children and it goes like this

The first son is named after the paternal grandfather.
The second son is named after the maternal grandfather
The third son is named after his father.

The first daughter is named after the maternal grandmother.
The second daughter is named after the paternal grandmother.
The third daughter is named after her mother.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote