Old 07-05-06, 17:47   #1

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut
Over dramatic Scotland on Sunday

By Tom English.

THE seismic shift in the balance of power in the SPL was nicely, if provocatively, illustrated by Paul Hartley last Wednesday night. Having earlier scored the goal that made grown men weep, the little devil of the Tynecastle midfield was asked for his thoughts on the final-day trip to Ibrox, a once-incendiary prospect suddenly defused and rendered harmless by the driven penalty in midweek that settled the Champions League race once and for all.

Whata fecking slavering arse.

He seems to think that Hearts finishing 1 point ahead of Rangers (and 20 points behind celtic) is a seismic shift. No, what happened was an anomaly.
Old 07-05-06, 18:18   #2

Re: Over dramatic Scotland on Sunday

Indeed. The best hearts team for 38 years, finishes 1 point ahead of the worst rangers team for 20, and 17 points behind the worst celtic team for 10.

brilliant.
Old 07-05-06, 18:19   #3

Originally Posted by BurbankHibee
By Tom English.

THE seismic shift in the balance of power in the SPL was nicely, if provocatively, illustrated by Paul Hartley last Wednesday night. Having earlier scored the goal that made grown men weep, the little devil of the Tynecastle midfield was asked for his thoughts on the final-day trip to Ibrox, a once-incendiary prospect suddenly defused and rendered harmless by the driven penalty in midweek that settled the Champions League race once and for all.

He seems to think that Hearts finishing 1 point ahead of Rangers (and 20 points behind celtic) is a seismic shift. No, what happened was an anomaly.
Would you say the same if it was Hibs?

We would be unwise to underestimate Hearts - and even more unwise not to attempt to rise to this considerable challenge.
Old 07-05-06, 18:24   #4
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge

hibbyharp1875 will become famous soon enough

By Tom English.

agree, and opening up the sports section i just about threw my breakfast up seeing vlad and his puppets in a two page spread

hibbyharp1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 18:26   #5

Originally Posted by Colr
Would you say the same if it was Hibs?
In all honesty, yes I would.

We would be unwise to underestimate Hearts - and even more unwise not to attempt to rise to this considerable challenge.
Hearts are no where near the calibre of the OF (as shite as they are). I don't worry too much about Hearts, only when Hibs are playing them. I view Hearts as an amusement not as a challenge.
Old 07-05-06, 18:34   #6

In all honesty, yes I would.

Hearts are no where near the calibre of the OF (as shite as they are). I don't worry too much about Hearts, only when Hibs are playing them. I view Hearts as an amusement not as a challenge.
Have we not been horsed by them on several occassions this season?

Next season will tell but if they improve again they will be a challenge.
Old 07-05-06, 18:39   #7

Have we not been horsed by them on several occassions this season?
We were horsed by them consistantly through the 80s and they won feck all. Came close mind and then what ?

Next season will tell but if they improve again they will be a challenge.
They may well improve but it will not be the "seismic shift" that whatshisface is on about. Their season was an anomaly. they got a cracking start, coupled with a dire Rangers season and that's what made them look good. In reality it was Ranger's failings that made them look good.
Old 07-05-06, 18:47   #8

We were horsed by them consistantly through the 80s and they won feck all. Came close mind and then what ?

They may well improve but it will not be the "seismic shift" that whatshisface is on about. Their season was an anomaly. they got a cracking start, coupled with a dire Rangers season and that's what made them look good. In reality it was Ranger's failings that made them look good.

They're going to win something next weekend.

They have money to sped and are mounting a challange that nobody else has managed since the 80s and Aberdeen.

Old 07-05-06, 18:52   #9

They're going to win something next weekend.
It looks likely.

They have money to sped and are mounting a challange that nobody else has managed since the 80s and Aberdeen.
They have money to borrow you mean, to fill their team with vlad's lithuanian pals. They're going nowhere and they will achieve feck all in the SPL. Of that I am certain.
Old 07-05-06, 19:07   #10

It looks likely.

They have money to borrow you mean, to fill their team with vlad's lithuanian pals. They're going nowhere and they will achieve feck all in the SPL. Of that I am certain.

Time will tell.
Old 07-05-06, 19:11   #11

Time will tell.
true enough, but on reflection, if Hearts can consistantly achieve 3rd and entry in to europe then that in itself can be seen a good progress, success even but hardly the seismic shift in power that that arse whatshisface has detected which is really what irked me.
Old 08-05-06, 00:49   #12

What has helped Hearts immensely this season has been their defence and their home record. I have always believed that the team which has the best defence will either win the league or be very near it, and Hearts defence is their biggest strength. They also play with a good ball-winner in Brellier, another essential thing for a successful team. Their record at Tynie has been tremendous, only two defeats all season, and hardly any goals conceded.

However, despite all that, they will find it very hard to re-produce anything like that consistancy next season IMO. I had a feeling the media in Scotland would go overboard about Hearts when they clinched second spot, they have had a soft spot for them ever since the Mercer days. Second place is no mean acheivement, but very much helped by a poor Rangers team. Both the OF will improve for next season, as will Aberdeen, Dundee United and Hibs IMO.

Hearts have improved because of Vlads money, and they certainly deserve credit for what they have done this season. It wasn't that long ago that all and sundry in the media were telling everyone that the OF would never be split in the SPL, but it is a one off. I expect Hearts, Aberdeen and Hibs to be fighting it out for third place next season.
Old 08-05-06, 05:37   #13

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

It looks likely.

The chances are we'll be spewing our guts oot next saturday and trying to ignore what's happened in Mount Florida.
It'll all go bust with Vlad we hope. We're turning into Micawbers in reverse..hoping something WONT turn up (for them).
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-06, 10:26   #14

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Caley Thistle only lost two more games than Hearts. I know it's a bit "if yer maw had baws she'd be yer da" but if Caley had won just 5 games that they actually drew, they'd have been just 2 wins behind Hearts.

You can't argue with the league table that they are second but similarily you can't argue with a league table which says the gulf is simply not there.

So Scotland On Sunday is being overdramatic. And, like Branson, no matter how much money they have, that won't stop them from being fannies.

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-06, 11:03   #15
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

Whit a fud.

Your team's just qualified for the CL, and are asked to predict the outcome of a completely irrelevant game. Hartley quite rightly says he doesn't care, and that's simply because the outcome doesn't matter. Cue Tom English claiming that a trite statement is indication of a 'seismic shift of power'. I feel obliged to say it again; whit a fud.

Should they repeat second place next season, then he may have a point. Until Hertz are regular CL competitors, then the offence of 'Fud in charge of of a Keybaord' can be easily prosecuted.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote