Old 02-05-06, 19:11   #1

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about
Think this is a scam?

Got this e-mail today:

Hello,

We have found your resume at Monster.co.uk and we would like to offer you a job.
It is a part-time job that consists of receiving payments from customers
(through bank transfers) and then making further payments to our main office or
to one of our regional affiliated departments, depending on the customer's
location.

Your commission as an agent is 6% of each transaction. For example, if you
receive 2000 GBP to your bank account, you will withdraw the money and keep 120
GBP for yourself. Your salary will be approximately 18000 GBP sterling per year.
The hours for this work are flexible and can be combined with any permanent or
other part-time job, with an average workload of up to 10 hours a week. All
additional money transfer and money transfer-related charges are covered and
paid for by our company. Therefore you'll only be responsible for making the
proper payments in time (i.e. within 48 hrs of successful receipt into your
account). Each transaction will be transferred only after prior notification,
which will sometimes be a notification by phone call.

Our company's principal business is based on a business model that heavily
employs all the latest internet technologies. Arecco is one of only a few
companies that uses regional representatives in its business operations. This
avoids high foreign taxation and cross-board acquisition fees. If you are
interested in our offer, please feel free to ask for details of the general
provisions of the contract. Our e-mail address is: [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Sandra Altorfer
HR Department
Arecco Capital Investment Ltd

If you check out the website it looks kosher, but I ain't giving them my bank details that's for sure.
Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-06, 19:21   #2

Re: Think this is a scam?

It all looks kosher as you say Colin but I would be wary of any Company wishing ME to transfer payments to them via MY Bank Account. Smells a wee bit like a laundry if you get ma drift

If I were you I'd stick to buskin' on the subway in yer kilt for now

Old 02-05-06, 19:23   #3

Originally Posted by blue toon hibby
It all looks kosher as you say Colin but I would be wary of any Company wishing ME to transfer payments to them via MY Bank Account. Smells a wee bit like a laundry if you get ma drift

If I were you I'd stick to buskin' on the subway in yer kilt for now
Got a new gig now mate, teaching folk to do this -

Old 02-05-06, 20:54   #4
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
Got a new gig now mate, teaching folk to do this -

Are you certain that's your job? I've heard your specific area of expertise is illustrating proper watercraft evacuation techniques.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-06, 21:15   #5

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Looks well dodgy to me. This is one of the management team, Badger Marson !!

It's a real scarey looking bunch

Old 02-05-06, 21:18   #6

Originally Posted by Burbank Lilywhite
Are you certain that's your job? I've heard your specific area of expertise is illustrating proper watercraft evacuation techniques.
Indeed, my speciality is the advanced extreme-sport technique known as "fa'in oot". The idea is to leave the craft at the point where the flow of water is at its narrowest and most intense, so that the full savagery of the river can be savoured without the hindrance of staying dry.
Old 02-05-06, 23:00   #7

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
Indeed, my speciality is the advanced extreme-sport technique known as "fa'in oot". The idea is to leave the craft at the point where the flow of water is at its narrowest and most intense, so that the full savagery of the river can be savoured without the hindrance of staying dry.
Jings min, the much-vaunted Bounce fishin' trip fae Anstruther wid be a dawdle tae ye compared tae that.

Speaking of gigs, Mr Boyes and I are off to see old Albert Lee tomorrow.