Old 01-05-06, 02:44   #1

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about
Textspeak

Textspeak is NOT allowed on any Bounce forum except the Hibs Yoof forum. Those using it will be warned once only before action is taken. Textspeak is annoying, lazy and impolite on a website and there is no valid reason to use it on a computer keyboard.

So dinnae dae that, eh no?

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-06, 04:40   #2

Re: Textspeak

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
Textspeak is NOT allowed on any Bounce forum except the Hibs Yoof forum. Those using it will be warned once only before action is taken. Textspeak is annoying, lazy and impolite on a website and there is no valid reason to use it on a computer keyboard.
wat yi sayn?

Old 01-05-06, 04:42   #3

Originally Posted by TattooedHibee
wat yi sayn?
Dinnae you start, I'm still up

Old 01-05-06, 05:00   #4

Dinnae you start, I'm still up

hmm
Wae edited this?

Last edited by TattooedHibee; 01-05-06 at 17:56.
Old 01-05-06, 10:54   #5

booboo_hibs is on the way to a first team debut

kkl

booboo_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-06, 11:01   #6

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

lolol pmsl. does this include IIRC, TBH, IMHO ?
Old 01-05-06, 13:06   #7

Originally Posted by HailHail
lolol pmsl. does this include IIRC, TBH, IMHO ?
No, they are all acepted as abbreviations on the internet.

bt wen ppl uz it aL d tym it bcumz rly anoyN 4 thOs hu prefer eng.

Old 01-05-06, 13:08   #8

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

No, they are all acepted as abbreviations on the internet.

bt wen ppl uz it aL d tym it bcumz rly anoyN 4 thOs hu prefer eng.
I c wot u meen dat iz a gud xplan8shun
Old 01-05-06, 13:12   #9

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is on the way to a first team debut

y we no alwd 2 use it, its is shorta dan usin propa eng ken wit i mean
ma bad

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-06, 13:14   #10
Aye Man Radge

stanton4 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Cal_Hibby_4_Life
y we no alwd 2 use it, its is shorta dan usin propa eng ken wit i mean
ma bad
what ??

we've beat the famous english clubs.....we're better than the rest
stanton4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-06, 14:50   #11

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Quite right Dixie. We are trying to get intelligent discussion on the bounce and create a forum where folk can argue for their point of view. Textspeak has no place in serving those requirements.
Old 01-05-06, 15:24   #12

booboo_hibs is on the way to a first team debut

sumtimes ppl use txtspeak which is hard 2 read bt simple fings lyk this is surely easy 2 read evn though its txtspeak. lyk kl instead of cool
booboo_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-06, 15:29   #13

*chops is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by booboo_hibs
sumtimes ppl use txtspeak which is hard 2 read bt simple fings lyk this is surely easy 2 read evn though its txtspeak. lyk kl instead of cool
There's no point arguing the case for text speak...the simple point is that the folk who run the site (god bless them) don't like it, and neither do a lot of members, so it's a big no-no, unless on the Hibs Yoof forum.
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-06, 15:36   #14

Hibees-Mad will become famous soon enough

The Bounce's stance on textspeak is very clear. It can be used in the Yoof Forum and that's it. End of.
But Hibs supporters kept hoping that the purse-strings could be prised apart and an audacious bid launched to tempt back the finest striker in a generation to have worn Scotland's original green and white.
Hibees-Mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-06, 17:22   #15

Originally Posted by booboo_hibs
Its banned, those using it will be warned only once and then they will lose access to the bounce. If the brain cannot stretch to simple english, try the Yoof section, if you still struggle, we recommend you stick to comics.

Old 01-05-06, 17:29   #16

Originally Posted by *chops
There's no point arguing the case for text speak...the simple point is that the folk who run the site (god bless them) don't like it, and neither do a lot of members, so it's a big no-no, unless on the Hibs Yoof forum.

got it in a oner mate

a lot of members have complained about posts containing text-speak, as well as all the admins having a pet-hatred for it. Its seen as a lazy form of communicating, and can be very frustrating to those who never use when trying to read a post containing it. A lot of posts go unanswered, and are generally ignored because of it.
As admins we recognise that text-speak is a widely used form of type, especially among teens/younger folk, hence one of the reasons the Hibs Yoof was created, but we will only allow it on that board and nowhere else. Any members abusing this will receive a warning to stop, and persistent offenders will be banned. Simple as that.

Gunnerhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-06, 08:12   #17

Very well put Sir.

So much nicer than "you will be punished accordingly" which I seem to remember seeing on some inferior web site.

Old 03-05-06, 14:55   #18

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Can you stop these feckin nippy moving sigs as well please? gives me a headache and takes pages longer to load.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-06, 18:28   #19

Stop they feckin nippy moving sigs as well!!!
Old 25-08-06, 12:23   #20

Cullen is on the way to a first team debut

you know who else banned textspeak?

the nazi's.

Change we can believe in.
Cullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 13:31   #21

you know who else banned textspeak?

the nazi's.
your source?

Gunnerhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 14:14   #22

Cullen is on the way to a first team debut

Dr. Who?

Change we can believe in.
Cullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 14:30   #23

Originally Posted