Old 26-04-06, 18:50   #1

Ideas and Suggestions For A Stag Trip To Amsterdam?

My first visit to Amsterdam was on a Stag weekend 5 years ago. Some erse had booked us into a hotel in the Hague so the Taxi fares were a bit on the heavy side..

It put a dampner on the whole weekend and i left not really buying into the whole 'Dam experience...

Going back on another Stag weekend in June. Any suggestions, tips, advice & recommendations on how to really enjoy the real Amsterdam?
Old 26-04-06, 19:02   #2

east calder hibby is a jewel in the rougheast calder hibby is a jewel in the rough
Re: Ideas and Suggestions For A Stag Trip To Amsterdam?

Originally Posted by Smurf
My first visit to Amsterdam was on a Stag weekend 5 years ago. Some erse had booked us into a hotel in the Hague so the Taxi fares were a bit on the heavy side..

It put a dampner on the whole weekend and i left not really buying into the whole 'Dam experience...

Going back on another Stag weekend in June. Any suggestions, tips, advice & recommendations on how to really enjoy the real Amsterdam?
any hotel near centraal station is ideal mate cant really give you any specific tips on how to enjoy the real amsterdam, just enjoy the sights
and anything else that takes your fancy

east calder hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-06, 19:06   #3

OxgangsHibby is on the way to a first team debut

The usual mate .....
stay in the city centre, do the touristy bits,eg: boat trip, anne franks hoose, the amsterdam arena , sex museum etc etc
Divvent overdo the waccy baccy, do have a body shot in Teasers.
Eat, drink and be merry.

I've done the dam twice, once on a stag w/end, and once with the missus (refused to stand in the window of the pub so she did !)
2 great , but different weekends.Hotels ? anywhere close to central station, train direct from schipol.
I stayed in TERMINUS and Vijaya Hotels.Have a good un mate

OxgangsHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-06, 19:06   #4

Originally Posted by east calder hibby
any hotel near centraal station is ideal mate cant really give you any specific tips on how to enjoy the real amsterdam, just enjoy the sights
and anything else that takes your fancy
Hotel is booked. Night time sorted..

Daytime?
Old 26-04-06, 19:07   #5
Shit Stirrin Radge

Sean has a spectacular aura about

AMS city centre hotel, 4 minutes walk from centraal station, two minutes walk from Damrak(Main Street), 3 minutes walk from Dam Square or the Red Light District.

Visit coffee shop "BEN" just across the road - great for local herbs.

Den Haag is a fantastic city, not for stags though. Its a great place to stay if you visit holland as a couple. Its beach resort, schevenningen is fantastic in the summer, and it also host one of the worlds best jazz and blues festivals, The North Sea, in July.

Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-06, 19:26   #6

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Smoke,mushrooms,drink,shakey ladies,thats the afternoon sorted.
Repeat at night you cant go wrong.The Grasshopper bar is the berry's.
Be confident when the paranoia sets in and you will be sorted.Enjoy.
Old 26-04-06, 19:50   #7

1. Don't get into a fight with drug dealers

Old 26-04-06, 19:55   #8

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

Daytime?
Amsterdam Arena Tour and Museum is a must ...especially if you like Cruyff, Van Basten or Riikjaard

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-06, 19:58   #9
Shit Stirrin Radge

Sean has a spectacular aura about

Daytime?
Didn't know they did "daytimes" in the Dam

Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-06, 19:59   #10

2. If you're a smoker, beware of non-smoking companions. You'll be consuming about 10 x the amount of intoxicant than they are with their sputtering failures to inhale.

This is well and good till they start buying super-strength Js of pure grass cos they aint getting anywhere, and a few hours later, are still sitting there going "should i be feeling anything yet". You meanwhile, are made of soup.

Old 26-04-06, 22:32   #11

I'd suggest at least one night round Leidesplein which is about 5-10 minutes by tram from Centraal. Nowhere near as frenzied as the RLD, and I've stayed near there every trip bar my first. It's handy for Vondelpark which is just a very very chilled park (clue is in the name). Much bigger variety of places to eat up there than anywhere else I've found as well.

In terms of smoking, if you don't smoke dope regularly go easy with it.The dope is way way stronger than stuff you get here. Speak to the dealer and they should be able to give you a hand picking stuff which you are not familiar with, and will suit you. The Rokereij near Leidesplein is a very cool smoking/ drinking place which is done up like an Indian temple. Other cool ones are Abraxas near Dam Square (no bevvy there though) which has huge cannabis plants growing in areas you can view, Barneys which does a damn fine breakfast and is about 10-15 minutes walk along Haarlemerstraat from Centraal, Rasta Baby just along from Centraal with a seriously chilled atmosphere, and Rookies (near Leidesplein as well) which is like a normal decent boozer here with dope smoking as a wee bonus. Avoid the Grasshopper which is extortionate, has shit dope, and is basically designed for tourists impressed with a nice big building.

Avoid the wee square where The Grasshopper is at all times because it seems to be the favoured hang out of total scam artists, pickpockets, and general total pains in the arse. Centraal Station is a bit dodgy as well, especially at night, since that seems to be the smack addicts hangout.

In terms of things which are not dope-smoking, the Anne Frankhaus is really moving (I mean really there's subsidence!), the Rijksmuseum which is a total reminder that the Dutch had colonies all over the world, and the canal cruises give you a decent idea of where you are going.

Just go for a walk since there're no hills. I really like going for a wander in the Joordan area which is a bit more preserved than the rest of the city, and is full of frankly mentalist shops which sell things like only left clogs.

If you like stuff like Hoegaarden it's always about the same price as a Heineken everywhere, though it does come in a fairly metrosexual tall glass with orange slice and plunger, so imo isn't very manly
Live music place called Bourbon Street near Leidesplein has barry live music, usually soul or blues, every night, costs nothing or 5 euros to get in, and is open till 6ish.

It appears every single person in Amsterdam speaks English but it seems to be pretty well received when you at least apologise for not knowing one word of Dutch before starting a conversation.

I fecking love Amsterdam.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 26-04-06, 22:41   #12

Kenny, we'll be expecting a "blow" by . . . ahem "blow" account on the Bounce after your return.

Old 26-04-06, 22:47   #13

HaarlemShuffler is on the way to a first team debut

Smurf, try our website [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] for some background info on Holland before you go. There's also a short page on Amsterdam there somewhere.

Maybe worth a quick browse before you go over, know the local habits in advance etc

And have a good one!

(Sorry for not asking about the link, Admins, delete message if not allowed!)
Old 26-04-06, 23:03   #14

Some great stuff being suggested. Going off to my bed as i am knackered but looking forward to reading this thread in detail in the morning.
Old 27-04-06, 07:43   #15

fifer is on the way to a first team debut

Daytime - visit the Heineken Brewery. Free beer at the end (and some cheese if I remember correctly).

fifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-06, 09:12   #16

Originally Posted by SKII
Amsterdam Arena Tour and Museum is a must ...especially if you like Cruyff, Van Basten or Riikjaard
Great idea.
Old 27-04-06, 09:14   #17

Originally Posted by egb_hibs
1. Don't get into a fight with drug dealers

Only been stopped in the street and offered drugs three times.

Dublin in '96, Amsterdam quite aggresively '01 and Prague '05...

My negotiation skills are excellent..
Old 27-04-06, 09:15   #18

Originally Posted by fifer
Daytime - visit the Heineken Brewery. Free beer at the end (and some cheese if I remember correctly).
Like it.
Old 27-04-06, 09:16   #19

Originally Posted by blue toon hibby
Kenny, we'll be expecting a "blow" by . . . ahem "blow" account on the Bounce after your return.
My wife reads this...

Old 27-04-06, 09:19   #20

Originally Posted by wee 162
I'd suggest at least one night round Leidesplein which is about 5-10 minutes by tram from Centraal. Nowhere near as frenzied as the RLD, and I've stayed near there every trip bar my first. It's handy for Vondelpark which is just a very very chilled park (clue is in the name). Much bigger variety of places to eat up there than anywhere else I've found as well.

In terms of smoking, if you don't smoke dope regularly go easy with it.The dope is way way stronger than stuff you get here. Speak to the dealer and they should be able to give you a hand picking stuff which you are not familiar with, and will suit you. The Rokereij near Leidesplein is a very cool smoking/ drinking place which is done up like an Indian temple. Other cool ones are Abraxas near Dam Square (no bevvy there though) which has huge cannabis plants growing in areas you can view, Barneys which does a damn fine breakfast and is about 10-15 minutes walk along Haarlemerstraat from Centraal, Rasta Baby just along from Centraal with a seriously chilled atmosphere, and Rookies (near Leidesplein as well) which is like a normal decent boozer here with dope smoking as a wee bonus. Avoid the Grasshopper which is extortionate, has shit dope, and is basically designed for tourists impressed with a nice big building.

Avoid the wee square where The Grasshopper is at all times because it seems to be the favoured hang out of total scam artists, pickpockets, and general total pains in the arse. Centraal Station is a bit dodgy as well, especially at night, since that seems to be the smack addicts hangout.

In terms of things which are not dope-smoking, the Anne Frankhaus is really moving (I mean really there's subsidence!), the Rijksmuseum which is a total reminder that the Dutch had colonies all over the world, and the canal cruises give you a decent idea of where you are going.

Just go for a walk since there're no hills. I really like going for a wander in the Joordan area which is a bit more preserved than the rest of the city, and is full of frankly mentalist shops which sell things like only left clogs.

If you like stuff like Hoegaarden it's always about the same price as a Heineken everywhere, though it does come in a fairly metrosexual tall glass with orange slice and plunger, so imo isn't very manly
Live music place called Bourbon Street near Leidesplein has barry live music, usually soul or blues, every night, costs nothing or 5 euros to get in, and is open till 6ish.

It appears every single person in Amsterdam speaks English but it seems to be pretty well received when you at least apologise for not knowing one word of Dutch before starting a conversation.

I fecking love Amsterdam.
Cheers mate.
Great post. Great tips. I'll print this off for the rest of the boys on the trip..

I'll be the first one to order Hoegaarden..