Old 15-04-06, 16:29   #1

DarrenSQH is on the way to a first team debut
Looks like intertoto

In the space of 2 mins it has went from

Rangers 1 Sheep 0
Hearts 0 Killie 0

to

Rangers 1 Sheep 1
Hearts 1 Killie 0

looks if it finishes this way our uefa chances are fcuked.
DarrenSQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 16:38   #2

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Looks like intertoto

Feck ! I can't believe how lucky Hearts get. Mon Killie !!
Old 15-04-06, 16:40   #3

burtis97 is on the way to a first team debut

yup and it would hav to be hartley to score at one point in the season we were 11 points clear of rangers how could we have thrown that away if we had kept that lead we probably would still be third tryin to cath heards
burtis97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 16:44   #4

that hearts up 2 nil now

Old 15-04-06, 16:47   #5

i still here its 1-1
Old 15-04-06, 17:01   #6

DarrenSQH is on the way to a first team debut

Full time.

Intertoto again. Latvia's Dinaburg Daugavpils or HB Torshavn from Faroes in July.

Unless we catch gers.
Win tommorow
Beat Hearts, Celtic beat rangers
Beat Rangers
We beat aberdeen. Killie take a point
Hearts beat them, We beat Killie.

Now that would be good.
DarrenSQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 17:41   #7

I know it's a controversial issue, but personally I would give the Intertoto Cup a miss, even if they have changed the format. The first qualifying game is on July 1st I believe, so that means the players will be back training in about mid June. An absolute joke. The only reason Hibs have applied to take part in it is financial, just like the last time. A nice wee earner before the season starts, never mind the detrimental affect it will have on the players as the season goes on.

What would it mean anyway?, A couple of games maybe against foreign opposition, the players being totally fecked by about January. We would be as well just orgainsing a couple of home and away pre-season friendlies against some wee European sides.

No, if we don't qualify for the UEFA Cup by merit, then we don't deserve to be in Europe. Of course, if things were done right in Scotland 4th place would get the UEFA cup place anyway, but because of the rules the mighty Gretna will be likely be representing Scotland in one of the major European competitions.
Old 15-04-06, 17:57   #8

Is there any real reasons why the players should be "fecked by January" ????
These are young guys in peak condition , it's not like they train after work or anything
Old 15-04-06, 18:13   #9

chrissy-r-hfc is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Greenmachine
I know it's a controversial issue, but personally I would give the Intertoto Cup a miss, even if they have changed the format. The first qualifying game is on July 1st I believe, so that means the players will be back training in about mid June. An absolute joke. The only reason Hibs have applied to take part in it is financial, just like the last time. A nice wee earner before the season starts, never mind the detrimental affect it will have on the players as the season goes on.

What would it mean anyway?, A couple of games maybe against foreign opposition, the players being totally fecked by about January. We would be as well just orgainsing a couple of home and away pre-season friendlies against some wee European sides.

No, if we don't qualify for the UEFA Cup by merit, then we don't deserve to be in Europe. Of course, if things were done right in Scotland 4th place would get the UEFA cup place anyway, but because of the rules the mighty Gretna will be likely be representing Scotland in one of the major European competitions.
I think Gretna deserve to be in the UEFA cup because they got to the Scottish Cup Final. Something only one other team in Scotland done. But there is no reason why we cant get to the UEFA cup proper aswell all we need to is beat 2 teams and were in.

WELCOME HOME DEEKS
chrissy-r-hfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 18:30   #10

Originally Posted by Greenmachine

Canny agree with your opinion that "the players being totally fecked by about January" we played in it 2 seasons ago and we finished 3rd.

As I've already stated, I dont have a problem with playing in the Intertoto, because some of the top clubs in europe have at some point participated in it.

If its good enough ... blah de blah

My preference, of course, would be to qualify by the best means we can 3rd, or 4th by default.

Gunnerhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 19:02   #11

PILTONSTANY is a jewel in the roughPILTONSTANY is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by chrissy-r-hfc
I think Gretna deserve to be in the UEFA cup because they got to the Scottish Cup Final. Something only one other team in Scotland done. But there is no reason why we cant get to the UEFA cup proper aswell all we need to is beat 2 teams and were in.
So by winning 5 games you think a 2nd division team should represent Scotland in europe over a team who plays 38 games and finishes 4th in the top league

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
20 days 16 hours 42 minutes
Old 15-04-06, 19:16   #12
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Originally Posted by PILTONSTANY
So by winning 5 games you think a 2nd division team should represent Scotland in europe over a team who plays 38 games and finishes 4th in the top league
Only if it's the yams in the 4th spot. Other than that absolutely not.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 21:05   #13

superbam is on the way to a first team debut

I cant believe Gretna are gonnae be in Europe, what a total waste of excitement which could have been enjoyed by a REAL long suffering support, possibly every other team in every division in Scotland. Fuckin Derek Townsley for fucks sake.

On the upside i think in the intertoto if we win the first game it is likely we would be facing Shelbourne, so everyone gets to go back to Dublin

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 21:08   #14
Survivor Radge

Originally Posted by superbam
On the upside i think in the intertoto if we win the first game it is likely we would be facing Shelbourne, so everyone gets to go back to Dublin

And as a Dundalk supporter any chance to hump Shels is not to be missed.
Old 15-04-06, 21:18   #15

superbam is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Burbank Lilywhite
And as a Dundalk supporter any chance to hump Shels is not to be missed.
Yeh im not so keen on them either, that Ollie Byrne boy is an erse of the highest order assuming he is still there.

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 21:22   #16
Survivor Radge

Originally Posted by superbam
Yeh im not so keen on them either, that Ollie Byrne boy is an erse of the highest order assuming he is still there.
He still is...

there.....

and a erse of the highest order.
Old 15-04-06, 21:23   #17

Murray6 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by chrissy-r-hfc
No way do they deserve to be in the UEFA cup. What have they done? Won 5 games against teams that are not even in the SPL. Where as Hibs/Killie/Aberdeen will finish 4th over a course of 38 games against teams that are all better than they have played on route to a UEFA cup spot.
Murray6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 21:30   #18

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Gunnerhibby
Canny agree with your opinion that "the players being totally fecked by about January" we played in it 2 seasons ago and we finished 3rd.

As I've already stated, I dont have a problem with playing in the Intertoto, because some of the top clubs in europe have at some point participated in it.

If its good enough ... blah de blah

My preference, of course, would be to qualify by the best means we can 3rd, or 4th by default.
I would prefer us to qualify be reaching third place in the league and the attitude should be that we go out to win all our remaining games. If we do not qualify automatically then the Intertoto provides a more than acceptable route. It certainly presents a better quality of pre season than the likes of Hartlepool.