Time For Action Radge
Fascism - Communisim and football
Did anyone watch the two documentries that followed each other on BBC4 lastnight? the first one being fascism then followed by communism.
It was really interesting how the leaders of both parties exploited football for their political gain. It was also funny seeing the England national team doing the fascist salute before a friendly in Munich in 1938. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005
Re: Fascism - Communisim and football
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
POSTED ON BEHALF OF PQ123
Missed it, but given your immenent trip to the (Non-Leith) San Siro it might be worth reading up on Italian football cultures. If you don't have the time; AC Milan are the traditional working class side, Inter being middle class. Ultra roots began there but have moved a fair bit. the first Ultra squad was La Fossa dei Leoni (The Lions Den) at AC Milan. However, like Scotland, fitba rowdies have blurred the lines and quoting Lenin or Marx is mair likely to get a blank stare, or a smack in the coupon, than a comradely hug fae AC milan supporters. PQ123
I saw a chunk of the Communism and Football programme, it was very interesting especially the stuff about the Hungarian national team and also the stuff about Steltskov? being imprisoned by the KGB in Moscow, will try and find out if they're gonna be repeated.
Time For Action Radge
Steltskov was supposed to have been better than Pele leading up to the 58' WC. He was set up by the KGB for a rape he didn't commit,and was sent to the Gulag. He was 26 when he was released and played again but could never capture the brilliance that he once had. |
have just been reading about the 1958 World Cup in Sweden where Brazil faced the USSR in Garrinchas biography which is an absolutely top class read, highly recommended.
Political groups have always used sport though to drum up support, win recruits etc. Still goes on in this country. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2003
I watched a programme about facism and football. It started on how Mussolini may have tried to cheat by fixing matches using the referees to let Italy win the tournament. Result was in 1934 Italy 2-1 Czechoslovakia.
Then it went on to show Franco and real madrid. |
Did you know that Berlusconi is an Inter fan? It has murkied the waters a bit. Some of the traditional 'left' teams in Italy such as Roma now have large numbers of fascists in their support. It is not as clear cut it as it used to be. |