arthur lee has leukaemia
i know a lot of bouncers are huge fans
taken from nme.com Rock legend Arthur Lee has leukaemia A benefit gig is being lined up Legendary Love frontman Arthur Lee has been diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukaemia, according to reports. The 61 year-old has undergone chemotherapy, but his condition means further treatment and a bone marrow transplant are a possibility. The news was broken by Los Angeles-based club booker Liz Garo when she posted on Love fan site LoveWithArthurLee.com. As the star is reportedly uninsured, friends want to organise a Los Angeles-based benefit concert for late May or early June. Calexico and Cake are among those reported to have been approached. There are also concerts planned for New York and London, according to a spokesperson for the star. Love are best known for their 1967 album 'Forever Changes', one of the most revered records of the psychedelic era. More recently though Lee went to prison in 1996 on a firearms charge. However, following his release in 2001, the singer put together a new version of Love together to tour. After seeing the success of Brian Wilson's 'Pet Sounds' tour in the early part of the decade, Lee followed suit by playing 'Forever Changes' in full in Europe and North America, complete with string section, to huge acclaim. However, in the summer of 2005, Lee's backing band Baby Lemonade announced they would no longer be performing with him. The star relocated to Memphis and put another new band together. Baby Lemonade have indicated they would be willing to play at the benefit show. |
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge
Re: arthur lee has leukaemia
Coincidently, last Friday went back tae get tortured again for another two hours at the tattoo studio Tribe in Cockburn Street. The lassie kept saying 'Are you ok, it's no too sare is it,does it hurt?' 'No, no' says I but inside my heid I was saying 'Fuckin right it does,fuckin right it does,fuckin right it does...........' Anyway after the deed I thought it I'll ask if she could go over my fading LOVE tat. 'Nae bother says she 'What shade of red, I have several' I looked at the bottles and couldnae make up my mind. 'Give me two minutes, I'll get the right shade for ye' I said to her and left the studio and hurried up the hill tae Avalanche Records. It was absolutely pishing down. When I got there I plucked a copy of 'Forever Changes' from the shelf and went tae pay for it. The guys eyes nearly popped out his napper. I wondered what the fuck he was gawkin at when I realised that my arm was bleeding like fuck and the rain had made it look as if I had put my arm through a threshing machine. I gave him his fiver a ran doon the road again. They put Arthur and the lads on and she started firing the appropriate red ink in. Cleaned up the bloody arm and took the compulsory photy for her daily blog and then the kichen paper and cling film applied. She is now the proud owner of a copy of 'Forever Changes'.Kick on. Get well soon Arthur. BIG G Last edited by GORDONSMITH7; 12-04-06 at 13:59. |
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
Re: arthur lee has leukaemia
I'm sure (given his track record of ressurecting his career from the depths of dross to unimaginable heights) that Mr Lee will "ride that vibration down, like a f...ing bomb, don't let it bring you down"
"This is the time of life that I am living and I'll face each day with a smile" Smile on Arthur To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |