Old 10-04-06, 13:25   #1

greenglory is on the way to a first team debut
Nihibs - Rules/what Rules? (Merged Threads)

NIH, the chief spokesman for NIHIBS, and some of his clubs rules.

1) Our supporters' club doesn't use national flags (it's in our rules).
But here we have a NIHIBS function in Belfast were the national flag of Ireland is clearly on display at their Home Venue, strange for a club that has rules that say no National Flags.

2) From the NIHIBS website, there is no place for politics in our supporters' club.
Look, whats this, NIH at another NIHIBS function 'A Tribute To Lawrie Reilly', in Belfast at their home venue, proudly standing under a NIHIBS banner and a political party banner of The Workers Party.
For those of you unaware, The Workers Party is aligned with the OIRA.
Check this link
And the current president of the Workers Party, Sean Garland, is the leader of the OIRA
Check this link

3) Here we have another NI Man, Gerry Adams, who is constantly telling us he is not a member of the IRA. Look whats this IRA men.

Last edited by greenglory; 10-04-06 at 18:09.
greenglory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-06, 14:30   #2

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough
Re: Nihibs - Rules/what Rules?

1) I'm sure that the flag in this picture belongs to one of the Republic based Hibbies on this board. The Hibby in question deliberately made the 3rd segmant yellow to differ it from his country's national flag.

2) I'm not going to comment on a banner at a party I never attended. As far as I know it could have always been there?

3) What are you insinuating? I've met Northern Ireland Hibby several times and not once has he given any indication whatsoever about his own political affiliations. Indeed, check out his posts on this board concerning NI, you'll find he is critical of all political parties.

For you to claim he is a hypocrite on a public board is bang out of order but I'm sure he can stand up for himself and will in due course.
Old 10-04-06, 14:37   #3

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by greenglory
2) From the NIHIBS website, there is no place for politics in our supporters' club.
Look, whats this, NIH at another NIHIBS function in Belfast at their home venue, proudly standing under a NIHIBS banner and a political party banner of The Workers Party.[/IMG]
I believe the hall being used belongs to the Workers Party, would be pretty rude to ask them to take it down I would have thought? I don't think there was any political statement being made by the NIHibs guys.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 10-04-06, 16:04   #4
An Dún Radge

Scoobie will become famous soon enough

Who rattled his cage?

The flag was certainly owned by a ROI hibee who attended the gig. The Workers Party banner is always there, part of the function room. And what the fuck has Gerry Adams got to do with Northern Ireland Hibs Supporters Club?

Maybe if you had've attended the event yourself, you would be aware of these little things, rather than shooting your mouth of at something you clearly don't know anything about.

And what's the reason you have the Irish Tricolour as your avatar? The Republic of Ireland didn't even exist when Hibs were formed, so I think you're the political one here, mister.

You also appear to have done some (for want of a better word) 'research' in your post, however a simple PM or an email to NIH highlighting your 'concerns' would have been a proper and better form of action, rather than some sort of 'expose' your tiny little mind seems to have created.

Methinks it's time you crawled back under your rock.

Edit: Just in case you reckon that I shouldn't have an opinion on your comments, I'm a member of NI Hibs SC and I don't take kindly to people knocking it when they don't know the facts.
Scoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-06, 16:17   #5

superbam is on the way to a first team debut

Dont understand the problem like. If NIHIBS supporters club used national flags, some folk may feel they are excluded from joining them. Im sure they dont have a problem with other supporters clubs using irish tricolours, especially the REPUBLIC OF IRELAND SC. Seems fair enough to me like.

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-06, 17:54   #6

Not sure what your angle is on this one GreenGlory, but I'm happy to clarify:

But here we have a NIHIBS function in Belfast were the national flag of Ireland is clearly on display at their Home Venue, strange for a club that has rules that say no National Flags.
OUR supporters' club doesn't use national flags: this is in our rules. Visiting supporters' clubs - who we are honoured to welcome to our home city - are welcome to bring their banners, which are outside our rules.

A) Our supporters' club rule is that we do not discuss politics or religion, in order to make sure that our focus is on Hibs and we are not distracted by other lesser matters or make members feel excluded by discussions they are uncomfortable with. We have (I assume, I've never asked) members from all kinds of backrounds in NI Hibs, something we are very proud of. We, therefore, work hard to maintain a neutral environment for the celebration of Hibs.

However...

B) We were given free use of the Lower Falls Social and Rec. club and a free reign to make as much noise and display as much football gear/ banners as we wish: something that is very rare in Belfast.

A Workers' Party function (the social club has a connection with the Workers' Party) was held previous to our function. Since they were kind enough to give us free room hire, we didn't even ask that the banner be removed. We plan to find a new venue for next year.

PS: A big difference exists between the OIRA and the Provisional IRA. Personally, I have no time for any NI political party.

3) Here we have another NI Man, Gerry Adams, who is constantly telling us he is not a member of the IRA. Look whats this IRA men.
Your point caller? Are you comparing me with a known terrorist?

Now perhaps you might like to explain your reasons for this bizarre attack on me and our beloved NI Hibs?

Old 10-04-06, 19:59   #7

Just giving this a....

Since I'm waiting for an answer to my last question GreenGlory.

Old 10-04-06, 20:06   #8

Well done to Northern Ireland Hibby for the great reply to all the so called 'points' raised. The fact there's been no reply to it says it all.
Old 10-04-06, 20:12   #9

Originally Posted by Smurf
Well done to Northern Ireland Hibby for the great reply to all the so called 'points' raised. The fact there's been no reply to it says it all.
It would have been easier to see the red mist over this one, since NI Hibs takes up most of our time, effort and sometimes money over here and it is a subject close to our ***rts, but he was asking about the supporters' club so it was only right to answer his 'questions'.

Still want to know where he's coming from though. What exactly is the point being made

Old 10-04-06, 20:18   #10

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby
It would have been easier to see the red mist over this one, since NI Hibs takes up most of our time, effort and sometimes money over here and it is a subject close to our ***rts, but he was asking about the supporters' club so it was only right to answer his 'questions'.

Still want to know where he's coming from though. What exactly is the point being made
A very dignified response NIH. You have always conducted yourself well and you and your fellow members are fine ambassadors for our club.
Old 10-04-06, 20:39   #11
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

My son was at the event you talk about greenglory, he lives in N I. At this Hibs bash he was welcommed and treated wonderfully by Connor and the rest of the N I Hibs lads, i met some of the lads personally during the Semi disaster, i can assure you they are gentlemen, any slur on them, is a slur on the greater Hibernian family.
Im a dissapointed Daddy. Just dont know where you were going with yer post.

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-06, 20:43   #12

Cheers for the comments all - the Hibernian Family is the greatest group of people on earth! And Marco and the Sighthill lads are a cracking bunch, always an honour to meet/ welcome them.

(PS - Don't let on but I've just read the original post again and I have to say it's a radge piece of grenade-throwing! Still want an explanation, mind
).

Old 10-04-06, 21:09   #13

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs
i was there as well on behalf of the westies. if i could remember any of it, it would be a bonus.
Aye but that's yer senility no the drink.

It's got so bad you think wee fat Bob was a legend.
Old 11-04-06, 06:21   #14

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs
i was there as well on behalf of the westies. if i could remember any of it, it would be a bonus.
And you couldn't have been more invaluable-er either Jimmy

(Jimmy arrived early for the function and gave us a hand setting the room up so I could have more time for panicing, flapping around and chasing my tail!)

Old 11-04-06, 07:23   #15
Erin Go Bragh

Rep of Ireland Hibee will become famous soon enough

Still no reply from this guy yet

Silly comments really if, in the coming years, we could achieve just HALF what the NI Hibs have achieved I'd consider it a HUGE success

Last edited by Rep of Ireland Hibee; 11-04-06 at 09:56.
Rep of Ireland Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 09:51   #16

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

What, still no response from greenglory? Considering that his original post was little short of an outright personal attack, I would have thought he could have followed it up by now.

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 10:10   #17

tricky will become famous soon enough

good photo of the back of my head in greenglory's post.

the rest of it was bawz, I await his response with interest.
Old 11-04-06, 10:31   #18

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by tricky
good photo of the back of my head in greenglory's post.

the rest of it was bawz, I await his response with interest.
You can barely see the flag because of it.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 11-04-06, 12:25   #19
An Dún Radge

Scoobie will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
What, still no response from greenglory? Considering that his original post was little short of an outright personal attack, I would have thought he could have followed it up by now.
I imagine we're in for a long wait......
Scoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 12:32   #20
Half Hung Radge

U What? is on the way to a first team debut

With the back of Tricky's head it's a wonder ye can see the room....

I heard about the comments by green glory...

personally speaking he obviously knows little of the people involved.

And very little of the situation in our country even though he displays a tri-colour in his avatar...

The one thing I would say is " I'm fecking certainly not going to ask the stickies to remove their banners!!"
So if greenglory's suicidal maybe he could do it for next year,
Few guys haven't been up to much in a while, would certainly be obliging"

No need for the personal attack even if you're just doing it to get a reaction.

C. Have you tried growing a beard??
Old 11-04-06, 16:52   #21

garethni is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by greenglory
NIH, the chief spokesman for NIHIBS, and some of his clubs rules.

Look, whats this, NIH at another NIHIBS function 'A Tribute To Lawrie Reilly', in Belfast at their home venue, proudly standing under a NIHIBS banner and a political party banner of The Workers Party.
For those of you unaware, The Workers Party is aligned with the OIRA.
Check this link
And the current president of the Workers Party, Sean Garland, is the leader of the OIRA
Check this link

LOL says the guy with a tri-colour avatar!!

I dont know Connor personally in the slightest but being a fellow NI'man hes been very welcoming with his correspondance relating to NIHIBS and your criticism is completely unjust; never once have I (nor the fellow bouncers im sure) read connor showing any kind of biggoted manner to any side of the religious divide.