Old 06-04-06, 15:13   #1

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about
Tartan Day

SCOTLAND TAKES OVER MANHATTEN

Scotland will take centre stage in New York this weekend as the Tartan Day events come to a climax.

The main activity will be the Tunes of Glory Parade down Manhattan's 6th Avenue involving several thousand pipers and drummers. Building on the success of last year's events the aim is to strengthen the links between Scotland and America and to develop and enhance trade links through a showcase of Scottish culture.

A series of promotional activities have taken place on the lead up to Tartan Day. These have included the publishing of one million special inserts in the New York Times, the branding of the New York subway stations and a subway car, and wrapping an open-topped double-decker bus in tartan.

Peter Lederer, VisitScotland chairman, said: "We are here to promote Scottish tourism and to encourage trade and cultural links. The activities undertaken in the past week have allowed us to build for the future in what is a very important time for Scottish tourism.

"Following this week we will be building on the contacts and business opportunities identified to ensure that the work we have done will boost tourism to Scotland in the years to come."

I thought Manhattan was spelled with an A?

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-06, 16:58   #2

Re: Tartan Day

Have to say it sounds fantastic. It's a pity Tartan Day is knocked by so many here in Scotland.
Old 06-04-06, 17:23   #3

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Smurf
Have to say it sounds fantastic. It's a pity Tartan Day is knocked by so many here in Scotland.
Dixie will know better than us over here whether there is much exposure in the US for this. I happened to be over on business a couple of years ago when it was taking place and there was no mention in either the New York Times or The Boston Globe and Mail. I just wonder whether things have improved. When I mentioned the event to the people I was meeting in NY none of them knew what I was talking about.
Old 06-04-06, 17:32   #4

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs
Dixie will know better than us over here whether there is much exposure in the US for this. I happened to be over on business a couple of years ago when it was taking place and there was no mention in either the New York Times or The Boston Globe and Mail. I just wonder whether things have improved. When I mentioned the event to the people I was meeting in NY none of them knew what I was talking about.
I'm not sure yet, but I will report back.

Old 06-04-06, 18:08   #5

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs
the thought of jack mconnell in a kilt just spoils the illusion of a great day out.
Jimmy, i may not be a Nationalist but i am a proud Scot.

Tartan Day is remembered for really only one thing by most Scots and that's Jack McConnell's feckin kilt.

Tartan Day could be so much. It's small time just now but it could really grow into something special. Only though when we look beyond the legs of our First Minister.

That for me says so much and is the reason why i am, currently, no Nationalist. Our small time mentality.

I am a Alex Salmond critic but i have to say that over in the Big Apple he's done quite well in the past few days.
Old 06-04-06, 18:47   #6

I am a Alex Salmond critic but i have to say that over in the Big Apple he's done quite well in the past few days.
Maybe he can stay as an ambassador.
Old 06-04-06, 19:01   #7
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

Or just as a Jambo bassa
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-06, 19:44   #8

its a bit daft having a whole day dedicated to plaid material though innit?
Old 06-04-06, 19:51   #9

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by egb_hibs
Perhaps but some of the folk over there decided that we didn't deserve a public holiday on St Andrew's Day.
Pilrig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-06, 20:06   #10

Agreed. Why not just 'Scottish Day'?
Old 06-04-06, 20:07   #11

We can wish!
Old 06-04-06, 20:37   #12

Originally Posted by oo2beahibby
Or just as a Jambo bassa
Knew we would get there in the end.
Old 06-04-06, 20:41   #13

Agreed. Why not just 'Scottish Day'?
It's not that i object in principle to the scottish theme being distilled and evoked through something iconic. that is, after all, what branding is all about, and it's very successful.

but tartan is quite dubious, given the modern incarnation's english roots, the fact that it only truly represents the highlands and so on. and more than that, it's a bit shortbread tin as DC would have it.

that said, I cannae think of a good alternative
Old 06-04-06, 20:46   #14

It's not that i object in principle to the scottish theme being distilled and evoked through something iconic. that is, after all, what branding is all about, and it's very successful.

but tartan is quite dubious, given the modern incarnation's english roots, the fact that it only truly represents the highlands and so on. and more than that, it's a bit shortbread tin as DC would have it.

that said, I cannae think of a good alternative
I understand where you are coming from however when it comes to building a brand identity the kilt is a well known symbol of Scotland around the world. Perhaps the question is how to make it relavant to modern Scotland.
Old 06-04-06, 20:50   #15

I understand where you are coming from however when it comes to building a brand identity the kilt is a well known symbol of Scotland around the world. Perhaps the question is how to make it relavant to modern Scotland.
Point taken - also, not to be cheeky, i'd prefer anything than attempts to relevant to the modern
- all too often that can end up being a preface for all kinds of contrived naffness!

I do however think that some effort should be made on the home front. if this takes off it could get as daft as St Pats being celebrated in NYC but not in ireland!
Old 06-04-06, 21:03   #16

Point taken - also, not to be cheeky, i'd prefer anything than attempts to relevant to the modern
- all too often that can end up being a preface for all kinds of contrived naffness!

I do however think that some effort should be made on the home front. if this takes off it could get as daft as St Pats being celebrated in NYC but not in ireland!
I know what you mean. How many folk in Scotland do you think even know that the declaration of Arbroath was signed on the 6th April. How many do you think know of the significance of the document.
Old 06-04-06, 21:10   #17
SCOOTER Radge

hoagy boy is on the way to a first team debut

50,000 guesstamite,Talk to yer average Scot about scottish politics,history get a blank look
Talk aboot the Emerald Isle

Every Cant goes Aff on one,

........Ian Mculloch
hoagy boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-06, 21:12   #18

I know what you mean. How many folk in Scotland do you think even know that the declaration of Arbroath was signed on the 6th April. How many do you think know of the significance of the document.
Not many, but they should, especially in Scotland of course but also in the USA. It is the document that is credited with the inspiration for the American Constitution. Among the names on the latter are those of two Scottish lawyers who undoubtedly had a hand in its design:
" House Resolution 41

Whereas April 6 has a special significance for all Americans, and especially those Americans of Scottish descent, because the Declaration of Arbroath, the Scottish Declaration of Independence, was signed on April 6, 1320, and the American Declaration of Independence was modeled in part on that inspirational document;..."

Old 06-04-06, 21:34   #19

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

I for one know what it means ,but what chance have we got when Scottish schools wont teach Scottish kids Scottish history.
Old 06-04-06, 21:36   #20

Originally Posted by beefy
I for one know what it means ,but what chance have we got when Scottish schools wont teach Scottish kids Scottish history.
What are you talking about?

Old 06-04-06, 21:40   #21
SCOOTER Radge

hoagy boy is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
What are you talking about?
I think Beefy is right to a degree,Allthough helping my girls wi thier homework I think the issue is being,Slightly Adressed.

........Ian Mculloch
hoagy boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-06, 2