View Poll Results: Who do you want to win the World Cup
England (producer of Jimmy Hill, and Terry Fenwick) 3 4.05%
Anyone else (producers of Cruyff, Pele, Maradona etc etc) 71 95.95%
Voters: 74. You may not vote on this poll

Old 31-03-06, 14:33   #1

Who are you wanting to win the World Cup?

Given that some poll reckons that 67% of Scots want to see England do well in it...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 31-03-06, 14:35   #2

Re: Who are you wanting to win the World Cup?

Always Brazil though i fancy Argentina will win it..
Old 31-03-06, 14:39   #3

CadgeMac is on the way to a first team debut

always brazil aswell smurf and i think they will win it, a class apart
Old 31-03-06, 14:39   #4
Erin Go Bragh

Rep of Ireland Hibee will become famous soon enough

USA os Czech Rep. to win

Rep of Ireland Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 14:50   #5

Would love to see anexciting, attacking team win it.
But since Hibs canny enter, i voted for anyone except
'them'.
Sometimes wonder about polls, who the feck do they ask?
I've never been asked, and don't know anyone who has

You'd think that whoever is running this one
would have asked the question on fans websites, and
not just ant old biddy in the street.

Old 31-03-06, 15:18   #6

of the teams that have half a chance, I'd like to see italy win it.
Old 31-03-06, 15:21   #7
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

DR Congo.
Old 31-03-06, 15:23   #8
The Radge of all Radges

liam_ya_bas is on the way to a first team debut

No doubt Brazil will win it...

But im suporting Trinidad & Tobago

liam_ya_bas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 15:25   #9
Raving Radge-RIP mate,gone but not forgotten

PPK (The Arcade KING-RIP Les) is on the way to a first team debut

Once Scotland go out or in recent years dont qualify I always want Italy to do well
PPK (The Arcade KING-RIP Les) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 15:26   #10
Big Jessie Radge

Proclaimers is on the way to a first team debut

I've never, ever seen such a pointless poll on the bounce

Sky Sports News has already mapped out Englands route to the final and according to some people doun south England just have to turn up to lift the trophy.

I mean why are teams like Brazil, Argentina, France, Italy and Spain bothering to turn up when England have won it already?

Old 31-03-06, 15:53   #11

east calder hibby is a jewel in the rougheast calder hibby is a jewel in the rough

Croatia for me have always supported them in competitions since there trip over here in 2000 great bunch of folk

east calder hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 16:40   #12
Leither 4eva Radge

number14 is on the way to a first team debut
Exclamation Re: Who are you wanting to win the World Cup?

aii the mighty brazil will win it likes,

but wouldnae mind seeing the czech republic win it, or Trinidad & Tobago would be nice!!!

Old 31-03-06, 18:22   #13

I normally support the underdogs.....but I can't bring myself to cheer for England so I'd like perennial under achievers Spain to crack it for once alternatively France (but I think the Krauts will win it).
Old 31-03-06, 19:23   #14

superbam is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Rep of Ireland Hibee
USA to win

I hope they never win it. Hardly anybody over there cares or is even aware the world cup is on, it would be a massive waste. I remember being over there when the 94 world cup was on and none of my family even knew it was happening, i had to persuade them to change channel from the baseball so i could watch THE WORLD CUP FINAL WHICH WAS HAPPENING IN AMERICA

Plus they pump the rest of the world at nearly every other sport, and indeed in matters outside sport too.

family loyalties will be divided here but i sincerely hope they get knocked out in the first round

Il be supporting Mexico and the jolly Czechs

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 19:41   #15
On the Wagon Radge

Originally Posted by superbam

I hope they never win it. Hardly anybody over there cares or is even aware the world cup is on, it would be a massive waste.
That's not really true. It's massive amongst the Latin community, and its become much more popular generally in the dozen years since they hosted it.

Also I think it's fair to say that in some ways it's less of a waste if a less traditional footballing nation wins it. Brazil are still going to be fanatical about the game whether they win it or not this year, but if Oz or the US managed it a whole load of new people would get into it.
Old 31-03-06, 19:45   #16
Sex, Vodka n Football Radge

Swoosh is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by superbam

I hope they never win it. Hardly anybody over there cares or is even aware the world cup is on, it would be a massive waste. I remember being over there when the 94 world cup was on and none of my family even knew it was happening, i had to persuade them to change channel from the baseball so i could watch THE WORLD CUP FINAL WHICH WAS HAPPENING IN AMERICA

Plus they pump the rest of the world at nearly every other sport, and indeed in matters outside sport too.

family loyalties will be divided here but i sincerely hope they get knocked out in the first round

Il be supporting Mexico and the jolly Czechs
If the did win it then it might get all the yanks into 'Soccer'. Never know. Ive took a couple of Yanks to hibs games and they loved every minute of it.
They really dont understand how passionate we are when it comes to football tho!

Browse the web in style with Google Hibernian!

Swoosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 19:48   #17
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge

Young_hibee is on the way to a first team debut

A want Brazil to win it but a think holland might be in with a good chance.
Young_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 19:59   #18
Have to Wear Maroon on a Saturday Radge

sauzee-god04 is on the way to a first team debut

i think brazil will walk it but i want portugal to win always want them to do well
Old 31-03-06, 20:00   #19

[quote=HenryLB]
That's not really true. It's massive amongst the Latin community
Aye but a lot of them will be supporting MEXICO

and its become much more popular generally in the dozen years since they hosted it
True, it has become one of the most popular participator sports, albeit generally among folk who, while perhaps showing an interest in the national team, will not be greatly effected emotionally by its fortunes. A bit like how folk who play field hockey here treat the national field hockey team. This is in contrast to the vast majority of the other countries in the world cup, where the bulk of the population will be passionately following the national team. If the US won the world cup, there would be no massive spontaneous street parties, nor a lingering sense of national well-being. In every other country i believe this would be the case.

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 20:37   #20
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

The same teams always win it, wouldn't it be nice for a dark horse to win it.

Im going to jinx Argentina, them or Germany.

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 20:52   #21
On the Wagon Radge

[quote=superbam]
Originally Posted by HenryLB
Aye but a lot of them will be supporting MEXICO

True, it has become one of the most popular participator sports, albeit generally among folk who, while perhaps showing an interest in the national team, will not be greatly effected emotionally by its fortunes. A bit like how folk who play field hockey here treat the national field hockey team. This is in contrast to the vast majority of the other countries in the world cup, where the bulk of the population will be passionately following the national team. If the US won the world cup, there would be no massive spontaneous street parties, nor a lingering sense of national well-being. In every other country i believe this would be the case.
National well-being? I can do without that to be honest. Most of the twats who get all foamy at the thought of england winning the world cup are the kind who i actively like to be unhappy. Not nice, but there it is.

As for other countries though, I see your point. Not sure I really care that much about their feelgood factor either though. But I suppose it could work. And on that basis I should choose the poorest, most unhappy country and root for them. The poorest is Togo (GDP/cap a measly 1600 bucks), the saddest I'm not so sure of. So I'll go for Togo - who also used to be a german colony, so it'd have a nice irony to it as well.
Old 31-03-06, 21:01   #22

Honestly couldn't care less so long as the winners play good football and don't resort to any kind of cheating
Old 31-03-06, 21:01   #23

Re: Who are you wanting to win the Wor