Old 31-03-06, 09:44   #1

Dublin_Hibee is on the way to a first team debut
"Home" nations support England

From this mornings EBC website

83% of Welsh
76% of N.Irish
67% of Scots

supporting England at the World Cup - aye right!

did they do the Scottish part of the survey at a Huns home game
"Despite everything, the ancient fires still smoulder in Scotland. The odd spark may fly harmlessly away, but blow on the embers, kindle the right kind of flame, and those fires will spread throughout this land."

Ronald MacDonald Douglas
Dublin_Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 09:54   #2

superbam is on the way to a first team debut
Re: "Home" nations support England

I think they took the survey among people on the whole ambivelent about football. A poll of scottish FOOTBALL fans would be somewhat different.

Anyway i dont understand the fuss about it. Most countries in the world wouldnt support their neighbours and historical rivals in the world cup. Do Brazillians support Argentina ? Do the Dutch support Germany ? No.The only reason it doesent cut both ways is that england have bigger fish to fry in general - bit like derbies between teams seperated by a few divisions - the rivalry is always more intense for the less successfull team.

I hope they get pumped

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 10:00   #3
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice
PMSL Re: "Home" nations support England

Originally Posted by superbam
I think they took the survey among people on the whole ambivelent about football. A poll of scottish FOOTBALL fans would be somewhat different.

Anyway i dont understand the fuss about it. Most countries in the world wouldnt support their neighbours and historical rivals in the world cup. Do Brazillians support Argentina ? Do the Dutch support Germany ? No.The only reason it doesent cut both ways is that england have bigger fish to fry in general - bit like derbies between teams seperated by a few divisions - the rivalry is always more intense for the less successfull team.

I hope they get pumped

i can see 1 flaw in your posting

brazil, argintina, germany etc etc etc all make it into the world cup so they don't feel the need to call on neighbouring countries

as for england, (who think they are the whole uk) think that they are that important that EVERYONE should support them

i'll be supporting togo

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: HGV DRIVER TRAINING START DATE
TIME TO START DRIVER TRAINING - BE CAREFUL - I AM ON THE ROADS AS YOU READ
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 10:05   #4

I’m sure it’s entirely accurate and the majority of football fans are only too willing to lend support to neighbouring teams.

I for one look forward to supporting Ingerlund, and I can hardly wait for the first mention of 1966.
In fact, if the Gunts manage to get past the Cabbage I think it would be a splendid idea for Bounce Tours to organise a few buses for the final where we can get behind Rudi and the boys.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 31-03-06, 10:06   #5

superbam is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by madkink
i can see 1 flaw in your posting

brazil, argintina, germany etc etc etc all make it into the world cup so they don't feel the need to call on neighbouring countries

as for england, (who think they are the whole uk) think that they are that important that EVERYONE should support them

i'll be supporting togo
Aye but even if one of those teams didnt qualify, i cant imagine them supporting their rivals instead. I doubt Norway will be supporting Sweden for example.

I suppose it comes down to whether you feel any sense of britishness and therefore feel obliged to support one of the "Home Nations". I really cant say i know any football fan in Scotland who feels this way bar a few huns.

I will be supporting Mexico

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 10:13   #6

Originally Posted by superbam
Aye but even if one of those teams didnt qualify, i cant imagine them supporting their rivals instead. I doubt Norway will be supporting Sweden for example.

I suppose it comes down to whether you feel any sense of britishness and therefore feel obliged to support one of the "Home Nations". I really cant say i know any football fan in Scotland who feels this way bar a few huns.

I will be supporting Mexico
i'll tell you about a sense of britishness

quote bbc sport, england have racked up an amazing amount of medals (commonwealth games) and the other home nations have had a good number of wins too...

i was furious when i heard that, it is like WE ARE ENGLAND the rest of you come second to us in the uk,
and it pisses me off

Old 31-03-06, 10:14   #7

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

Ill be supporting Brazil. Mainly because I will have money on them.

But here goes, I dont actually mind England winning matches.
Old 31-03-06, 10:23   #8
Sex, Vodka n Football Radge

Swoosh is on the way to a first team debut

Saw this on GMTV this morning.
Not a chance ill be supporting England. Hope the go out nice n early!
Ill be celebrating as soon as they get kicked out!

GMTV reported that most of the older generation will be supporting England.
They also had some Scottish twat from aberdeen or something saying he would support england. He looked like a rite retard tho

Browse the web in style with Google Hibernian!

Swoosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 10:45   #9
A Radge Private Member

CJRRHibs is on the way to a first team debut

I hope they get pumped big style.
When they do get put out it won't be there fault, and as usual the toys will be out the pram
Old 31-03-06, 11:00   #10

Originally Posted by CJRRHibs
I hope they get pumped big style.
When they do get put out it won't be there fault, and as usual the toys will be out the pram

englands major problem, they are still holding on to 66 and that is why no-one wants to support them, if they shut up about it then people may (altho probably not) support them

Old 31-03-06, 11:32   #11

keithsansiro is on the way to a first team debut

englands major problem, they are still holding on to 66 and that is why no-one wants to support them, if they shut up about it then people may (altho probably not) support them
Quite
They've been rabbiting on about it ever since

Which...as usual is why ENGLAND EXPECTS etc.

The media will have the whole nation whipped up into their usual frenzy & ultimate humilitaion (I hope) when they get their inevitable gubbing

I for one will be hoping that they're on the plane early. My prediction or the first mention of 1966 or 5-1 will be roughly 4 seconds into the first game

Keith
keithsansiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 11:36   #12

Originally Posted by keithsansiro
Quite
They've been rabbiting on about it ever since

Which...as usual is why ENGLAND EXPECTS etc.

The media will have the whole nation whipped up into their usual frenzy & ultimate humilitaion (I hope) when they get their inevitable gubbing

I for one will be hoping that they're on the plane early. My prediction or the first mention of 1966 or 5-1 will be roughly 4 seconds into the first game

Keith
man your giving them too long, 4 seconds into the first program before the first match

i can hear the line "hello and welcome to the world cup program for england versus whoever, mayby this year will be englands your, will we have a repeat of 66" and then that will be the world cup over for me till england are out

Old 31-03-06, 12:15   #13

alnewhaven is on the way to a first team debut

Bound to be even more OTT this year, with it being 40 years since 66 and it being held in Germany. Never mind, by the end they will be reduced to grabbing any tenous connection ( remember the 98 final, Brazil v France ...Motty gets excited about the linesman being English ?
) En route of course much tut tutting at the misbehaviour of 'British' hooligans ....
alnewhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 12:18   #14

alnewhaven is on the way to a first team debut

man your giving them too long, 4 seconds into the first program before the first match

i can hear the line "hello and welcome to the world cup program for england versus whoever, mayby this year will be englands your, will we have a repeat of 66" and then that will be the world cup over for me till england are out
your bound to have the chance to watch 'a repeat of 66'.....they showed the whole match again in 86 .......just in case anybody had missed the chance to see it in the intervening years
alnewhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 12:19   #15

snedhib87 is on the way to a first team debut

Bollocks, no way would a support England!!
They wouldnt stop talking bout it...still yap on bout 1966!!!

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO TO WIN IT!!!!!!
snedhib87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 12:33   #16

I would be suprised if they percentages were accurate if it was actual 'English' folks they asked..
Old 31-03-06, 12:35   #17

FrazTheHibee is on the way to a first team debut

would never consider wantin england to do well

mon trinidad n tobago
FrazTheHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 12:57   #18

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

I used to support whoever the English were playing but not any more. I have come to form the view that it is symptomatic of political immaturity. It is understandable, since the Scots have very few opportunities to express their national identity these days, with our own football and national side incapable of qualification for major tournaments. So even sad outbreaks of schadenfreude like this are seized upon. But it is a bit sad really.

Still can't bring myself to support them either, mind you

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 13:01   #19

76% of Northern Irish people is even more surprising to me than 67% of Scots tbh...

It's utter pish. Would really like to see the actual question asked, cause I suspect it was "would you rather have your genitals removed, or England to win the World Cup" for it to come up with that result...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 31-03-06, 13:06   #20

doontheslope70 hasnae upset anyone -yet

If Ingerland were playing football against Aphganistan I would want Osama Bin Laden to score a hatrick!!!!
doontheslope70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-06, 13:15   #21

the figures they are using is from the first question asked
"would you support england in the would cup"

the second question which distroyed these figures that they don't mention
"who would you rather won, england or brazil"

and those figures distroyed anything said in the top question