National Anthem Debate
Action call over national anthem
Winning Scots athletes have heard Scotland the Brave A decision must be made on an official national anthem for Scotland following confusion caused by the Commonwealth Games, according to campaigners. [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] Flower of Scotland, Scptland the Brave,......? Personally I'd vote for Aunty Mary or Donald, Where's Your Troosers but the choice of the people seems to be Flower of Scotland - which is pretty up lifting. They should stop England using God Save the Queen as that dirge is the British anthem.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
Re: National Anthem Debate
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 214
Scots whae hae is good.
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge
I agree with Colr....Donald Where's yer troosers would be great or something by Fran and Anna. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. However my preferred option would be 'Hoots Mon' by the Lord Rockingham's XI.Tremendous rockin sax/bagpipes and no having tae remember crappy words about Wallace,Edward and all that kind of guff just a straight forward 'Hoots Mon,it's a braw bricht moonlicht nicht' and 'Hoots Mon there's a moose loose aboot this hoose'. Quality. BIG G
Cannae think of a good scots option.
The english, alas, have in 'Jerusalem' a potential corker that would take them right up their with the currently untouchable french in the nation anthem hit parade.
Its good but a bit long. LOHG is quite rousing (sp?) but its really a British song.
What is this? Feckin Pop Idol? The national anthem should be a song that symbolises something. Scots Wha Hae, based on an ancient tune actually played at Bannockburn. Auld Lang Syne - known and sung the whole world over typifying friendship and emotion. These are the stuff of anthems.
If you want a catchy song get Neil Diamond or Paul Simon to write it. And Simon Cowell to judge it!
i dont mind O' Flower of Scotland or Scotland the brave but what about 500 miles
vCash: 500 Thanks: 138
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Arty Radge
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
I think the words might need a bit of tweaking but in essence, 500 Miles is magic. Easy to remember and, if necessary, you can clap or stamp/march along to it too. Hurrah...job done. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
An Dún Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 61
I cringed when England played Northern Ireland at Windsor Park, mainly because they only played one anthem. God save the Queen. Crazy stuff. Especially if Northern Ireland was to be taken seriously as a nation in itself, they're alienating a lot of potential supporters by continuely using it.
Danny Boy would be my choice in that instance. Good enough for Barry McGuigan, good enough for me. Incidently, I think England should drop it as well. No wonder people around the world think England is Britain, it's confusing them and it's not even suitable either. |
[Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]is pretty handy for outsiders like myself as it has all the songs talked about here.
Sounds like they made the wee midi link tunes on a kid's toy keyboard though!
Arty Radge
Makes me bubble every time I hear it...well except the version on NI Hibbies link!!!! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Do you not need to get a country first before you start worrying about a song for it?
Presumably God save the Queen is fit for purpose? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
I like Flower of Scotland. Would be my choice out of the other possible songs.
Arty Radge
Eh? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Prick. WTF is this, Kerrydale Street or whatever its called. How about showing some respect mate. For one thing, your views on NI are of fuck all interest to me unless you have lived and paid taxes here.
I never made any refe
#21 | |||
An Dún Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 61
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Quote:
|||
#22 | |
It was meant as a bit of a p1ss take but only in the most light-hearetd manner. I thought the smilie bounce would kind of give it away. As for my taxes, I have paid them in Ireland, Scotland and N Ireland but I keep my vote to my country. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
< |