Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,372 | Posts: 598,183 | Members: 11,631 | Latest Member : martinskye

Old 17-03-06, 13:33   #1

tricky will become famous soon enough

Support for Scottish Independence

any bouncers able to access opinion poll type figures for public support for Scottish independence? have drawn a blank from usual sources, would be most grateful.

cheers
Old 17-03-06, 13:45   #2

Re: Support for Scottish Independence

Originally Posted by tricky
any bouncers able to access opinion poll type figures for public support for Scottish independence? have drawn a blank from usual sources, would be most grateful.

cheers
Not much use to you but it is higher by about 10% from the SNP opinion Poll figure. Around 30%?
Old 17-03-06, 13:48   #3

Try TNS System Three they are usually the Pollsters.
Old 17-03-06, 13:54   #4

Originally Posted by tricky

cheers
There's one [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] although it is from 1999. It's not perfect (apart from being old) because it isn't a straight question of would you like Scotland to be independent and has the devolution option open.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 17-03-06, 14:01   #5

Old 17-03-06, 14:10   #6

tricky will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Smurf
Try TNS System Three they are usually the Pollsters.

I share offices with them mate, still struggling to find any up to date figures though, will post on here if I get hold of them, cheers.
Old 17-03-06, 14:12   #7

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

The last one I saw was a TNS Systtem 3 Poll conducted in April 2005 which had the following results:

For Scottish Independence: 46%
Against Scottish Independence: 39%
Undecided: 15%

The above Poll (plus others) can be found at:

(They're under the POLLS section, funnily enough)

If you're pro-Independence its worth checking out Independence First. It has the support of MSPs from the SNP, SSP, Scottish Greens, plus other "promininent" individuals.

Saorsa.
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-06, 14:41   #8
Big Jessie Radge

Proclaimers is on the way to a first team debut

Interesting site, I looked at the supporters page and I dinnae even ken there was a Communist Party of Scotland.
You learn something new everyday.
Old 17-03-06, 18:30   #9

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by DaddyK
The key point for me in that figure, is that actual vote for Independence parties, given those who would vote for it. It's the discrepancy that gives me hope, it's fine judgement.

Agreed. The support for Independence has always been there its just not translated into support for the SNP or the other Independence parties.

I paid a tenner and joined Independence First because its cross-party. Unless there's cross party co-operation I cannae see it happening.

IF also has the bonus that you can support or campaign for Scottish Independence without to align yourself with any political party if you dont want to.
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-06, 12:06   #10
Saorsa a-nis Radge

Stewart_HfC is on the way to a first team debut

2007 will be the year! fingers crossed

Stewart_HfC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-06, 00:14   #11

Chorley_fm is on the way to a first team debut

Scottish Independence....NO THANKS

Chorley_fm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-06, 00:34   #12
A Radge Private Member

Originally Posted by Chorley_fm
I'm not really into politics but why NO THANKS?
Old 19-03-06, 01:38   #13
SCOOTER Radge

hoagy boy is on the way to a first team debut

Choose indie Pendence
Choose setting your own taxes
Choose ambition over Apathy
Choose welcoming all Nations to yours/Provided it is not
to your nations detriment
Choose to make your own mistakes
Choose to have the power to rectify those mistakes
Choose not to feel ashamed of your nation or self
But choose to at some point in your life to witness
The free flowing Beauty in motion that is HIBS

........Ian Mculloch
hoagy boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-06, 01:47   #14
SCOOTER Radge

Excellent

For the first time

And hopefully not the last

THANK you Daddy K, Honestly mate Im no a complete Twat
But according tae the wife Im nearly there

........Ian Mculloch
Old 19-03-06, 01:54   #15

There's feck all to choose from from the list of absolute Numpties on offer to the Scottish Electorate.

McConnel, Goldie, Salmond, Stephen & Fox..

Old 19-03-06, 02:29   #16
SCOOTER Radge

There's feck all to choose from from the list of absolute Numpties on offer to the Scottish Electorate.

McConnel, Goldie, Salmond, Stephen & Fox..

Need to admit thats A gimme Smurf

No a personality among them
N as for a policy

........Ian Mculloch
Old 19-03-06, 09:26   #17

Originally Posted by Chorley_fm
Yes For Scottish Independence

Old 19-03-06, 13:45   #18

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

One day it will happen when we are ready to accept responsabilities for ourselves and have the confidence to take our place with dignity amongst the free nations of the world.

A Scotland at peace with itself and the rest of the world. A tolerant and self confident Scotland.

When it happens we will wonder why it took so long.
Old 19-03-06, 17:01   #19

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs
One day it will happen when we are ready to accept responsabilities for ourselves and have the confidence to take our place with dignity amongst the free nations of the world.

A Scotland at peace with itself and the rest of the world. A tolerant and self confident Scotland.

When it happens we will wonder why it took so long.
Would you concede though LanarkHibs, that there is no real enthusiasm for Independence from the people of Scotland, as there is no real leadership with the policies to excite and motivate such a move?
Old 19-03-06, 19:34   #20

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Would you concede though LanarkHibs, that there is no real enthusiasm for Independence from the people of Scotland, as there is no real leadership with the policies to excite and motivate such a move?
Yes I would and I believe leadership is the key issue. Those who believe in independence as I do have a duty to present a vision as to what an independent Scotland would look like. You cannot ask folk to vote for a pig in a poke.

Leadership is everything in my view.
Old 19-03-06, 21:25   #21

Alex Salmond for First Minister..no thanks

The guy doenae have a good idea in his head, Scotlands missed the boat on this , if it was gong to happen in our time it would have happened when the Scottish Parlement was re-started

Chorley_fm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-06, 23:01   #22

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs
Yes I would and I believe leadership is the key issue. Those who believe in independence as I do have a duty to present a vision as to what an independent Scotland would look like. You cannot ask folk to vote for a pig in a poke.

Leadership is everything in my view.

Good honest answer LanarkHibs.

You know i am a Unionist but i want my opinions to be challenged. I want to think about my vote and my country. I want to question the Union. I want to think of a seperate Independent Scotland outwith the UK.

Not only is it bad for democracy that there isn't the leadership to force that upon me, it's bad for Scotland.
Old 21-03-06, 22:08   #23

Em, BOLLOCKS
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or gr