Old 16-03-06, 19:46   #1

Sean Connery

What do Bouncers think of this very successful born in Edinburgh guy?

As usual, the week is nearly up and i've still got half the Sunday Times to read. Read this earlier on today. Quite interesting i thought..
Old 16-03-06, 19:50   #2
Baradge of fire

Bannox will become famous soon enough
Re: Sean Connery

Originally Posted by Smurf

What do Bouncers think of this very successful born in Edinburgh guy?

As usual, the week is nearly up and i've still got half the Sunday Times to read. Read this earlier on today. Quite interesting i thought..
Your gonna get the full range again Smurf

From 'he used to deliver my grannie's milk' to 'he's a money grabbing tax dodging bassa doesnae deserve to be Scottish'

FWIW i just think hes done some quality films

Bannox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 19:51   #3
SCOOTER Radge

hoagy boy is on the way to a first team debut

Loved the bit about English grumblings of a scottish RAJ we are aw feckin radge

........Ian Mculloch
hoagy boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 19:53   #4

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

A good Bond, but a Hun, so he can GTF.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 19:57   #5

Originally Posted by Bannox
FWIW i just think hes done some quality films
He has mate no doubt. One day i'll get round to watching all the Bond Movies..

However, as he demonstrates in the interview in the Sunday Times he's moving well into Scottish Politics..

I chuckled at the 'What of the West Bahamas question..'
Old 16-03-06, 20:06   #6

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

Smurf we've done this thread at least twice already

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 20:12   #7
Baradge of fire

Bannox will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
Is that all it has been???????? TWICE?

Bannox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 20:15   #8

Brizo will become famous soon enough

Never trust a man who supports multiple fitba teams ie George Galloway , Jack McConnell.

Shir Sheans been a Tic fan , a sticky bun and depending on you believe either a hibbie or a jambo as a boy.
Brizo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 20:15   #9

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
Aye, but the debates moving on..
Old 16-03-06, 20:17   #10
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Originally Posted by Brizo
Never trust a man who supports multiple fitba teams ie George Galloway , Jack McConnell.

Shir Sheans been a Tic fan , a sticky bun and depending on you believe either a hibbie or a jambo as a boy.
And during a interview with Mike Wallace of the American news programme 60 Minutes he admitted to being a die hard Manchester United supporter and showing off his sat-tv hook so he could watch all their matches from his home in the Bahamas.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 21:14   #11

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Connery, 75, is leading the fight for Scottish independence as tenaciously as one can from a golf course in the Caribbean.

Not a very inspiring observation.

I've nothing against Connery and I am quite fond of this high profile Scotsman who does seem to care for the country. I can't fathom out why he has achieved prolonged successl though. Very good as Bond but not the most gifted of actors and yet he seems to have kept working at a high level. With the exception of the laughable Untouchables, I can't recall a film he has been in since Bond although I know I have seen him a few times. He just doesn't convince me he has any great acting ability.
Old 16-03-06, 21:23   #12

fifer is on the way to a first team debut

He had a trial with East Fife as a boy. Failed it.

fifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 21:49   #13

Ewan is on the way to a first team debut

Can anyone here count themselves as a patriot? Would anyone here turn down the opportunity to live in the Bahamas if the opportunity arose? Would it make you any less of a patriot if you took up the offer?

CHICO!

Ewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 22:31   #14
SCOOTER Radge

hoagy boy is on the way to a first team debut

Bahamas is probably crap
Better the pissing rain fish suppers and the Hibs

No in that order though

........Ian Mculloch
hoagy boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-06, 03:44   #15
Barbary Corsair

TariqE is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by BurbankHibee
Connery, 75, is leading the fight for Scottish independence as tenaciously as one can from a golf course in the Caribbean.

Not a very inspiring observation.

I've nothing against Connery and I am quite fond of this high profile Scotsman who does seem to care for the country. I can't fathom out why he has achieved prolonged successl though. Very good as Bond but not the most gifted of actors and yet he seems to have kept working at a high level. With the exception of the laughable Untouchables, I can't recall a film he has been in since Bond although I know I have seen him a few times. He just doesn't convince me he has any great acting ability.
Despite the Academy award?

-That means fuck all. The sympathy vote!

I would say, in those days, he was a muscular actor, in every
sense, with all the presence of someone like Cooper or Lancaster,
but combined with a sly wit to make him a formidable romantic
lead, closer in that respect to Cary Grant.

There is a watcher over every soul.
TariqE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-06, 04:25   #16

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

A fair actor, no more. He was good as Bond, pretty ham as anyone else who wasn't supposed to have a shilly Shcottish drawl. Extremely funny as (variously) north African tribesman, Spanish swordsman, future cop, mercenary archaeologist's dad, 1930s cop, Russian submarine commander, King Arthur etc etc

Somehow is regarded as a hero of some sort rather than a national embarrassment, for reasons not entirely clear to me.

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-06, 04:47   #17

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

All down to he was everybody,s milkman so therfore edinburgh loves him .The fact is he was a good James Bond and a mediocre golfer that cant do accents......................bloody hell he cant act either.
Old 17-03-06, 16:22   #18

Actually he did deliver my grannies milk.

But I don’t suppose he remembers.

Not only was he a brilliant Bond, he was in my view the ‘only’ Bond; the others were simple caricatures.
He is also a patriot, and although you can argue or disagree with some of his contributions to Scottish politics and even how he chooses to lead his life, I think he is a decent advert for my country.
He also strikes me as the type of guy you could have a pint with and enjoy a chat, so he’s OK with me.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 17-03-06, 16:26   #19
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by BurbankHibee
With the exception of the laughable Untouchables, I can't recall a film he has been in since Bond although I know I have seen him a few times. He just doesn't convince me he has any great acting ability.
You should try and see this, Burb'.

Great, though disturbing piece of cinema.
Old 17-03-06, 16:34   #20

Originally Posted by DaddyK
I like the guy, he's done agreat deal for Scotland and he repaid by sour ploomed feckers like Foulkes on Politics Now last night.

As to acting, I think every actor is a :wa**ker: I like Sir Sean though, because it gets right up the Unionists nose, big style and I really like that
DaddyK, in the past i've been not too impressed by Sean's political input but i have to say in the interview i highlighted i was impressed with his honesty and passion.

I also think that he can make a far more significant contribution to the cause of Independence by avoiding the SNP..
Old 17-03-06, 16:37   #21

CadgeMac is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink
Actually he did deliver my grannies milk.

But I don’t suppose he remembers.

Not only was he a brilliant Bond, he was in my view the ‘only’ Bond; the others were simple caricatures.
He is also a patriot, and although you can argue or disagree with some of his contributions to Scottish politics and even how he chooses to lead his life, I think he is a decent advert for my country.
He also strikes me as the type of guy you could have a pint with and enjoy a chat, so he’s OK with me.

well said
Old 17-03-06, 16:55   #22

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough

Aye a great Bond but that doesn't excuse him for being a wife-beating Hun.