Old 16-03-06, 15:58   #1

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough
Before computers, what was @ for?

What was the @ character originally invented for? It means "at", a two letter word ffs. It takes two key strokes to type @ and two to type at.

Funsize Mars Bar for the best answer.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 16-03-06, 16:02   #2
Arty Radge

Bridie is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Before computers, what was @ for?

Prior to 't'internet I remember seeing it used in hotel tarriffs etc eg

A double room with breakfast @ £65 pppn

or

Advertising space charged @ £1.00 per word

That sort of thing...but I am sure someone has the definative definition.

Do I get the Mars bar for being first!!!!!!
Old 16-03-06, 16:03   #3

Hiberni-mum will become famous soon enough

It was used in nursing notes as well.

5ml Calpol given @ 3pm with desired effect

Last edited by Hiberni-mum; 16-03-06 at 16:22.
Hiberni-mum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 16:05   #4
Whatever ya Radge

Tortolinzi is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by hibadelic
What was the @ character originally invented for? It means "at", a two letter word ffs. It takes two key strokes to type @ and two to type at.

Funsize Mars Bar for the best answer.
You're not kidding with your mood eh?!

Zelena a Bila
Tortolinzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 16:09   #5

Originally Posted by Bridie

or

Nice try and points for initiative, but no.

Old 16-03-06, 16:11   #6
An Dún Radge

Scoobie will become famous soon enough

or

Deb, Amanda here says you're right. Actually, I asked her before I saw your post and she basically said the exact thing.

She says it was used for lists of items against costs, ie:

250 Turnips @ £1.50
66 Anchovies @ £250.26
13 Jockstraps @ 59p

etc, etc....

So, the Fun-sized Mars Bar should go to Amanda, cos you're aren't allowed any, madam!

Scoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 16:13   #7
An Dún Radge

Nice try and points for initiative, but no.
Do you know what the answer is supposed to be then? I thought you were wanting to know, not having a quiz!

Amanda is our Accountant, and she says it's an industry thing because they don't use the multiply symbol (x) because it gets confused with the letter x.
Old 16-03-06, 16:14   #8

Okay Mars Bar to Amanda, now my real question. Why was it needed, what was wrong with typing/writing at? And what does persnickety mean?

Old 16-03-06, 16:19   #9

Originally Posted by Scoobie
Do you know what the answer is supposed to be then? I thought you were wanting to know, not having a quiz!
No, I've no idea but I demand answers.

Old 16-03-06, 16:20   #10
Arty Radge

Bridie is on the way to a first team debut

So, the Fun-sized Mars Bar should go to Amanda, cos you're aren't allowed any, madam!

Can't I have a gold plated trophy Fun Size Mars Bar mounted on a bit of wood with a wee silvery plaque engraved with an @ and she can have the chocolately one!

....I've taken that too far haven't I........I'll get m' coat.
Old 16-03-06, 16:22   #11
An Dún Radge

Okay Mars Bar to Amanda, now my real question. Why was it needed, what was wrong with typing/writing at? And what does persnickety mean?

It was a formal thing. Everything was typed on a big clunky typewriters by floral-dressed wimmin with buns in their hair, told to write out a list by her Brylcreamed, suitwearing, round-bespeckled boss.

Plus if orders were written out as stock-codes rather than descriptions you'd have something like this:

35 x BL654-X1 at £1.40 each

rather than

35x BL654-X1 @ £1.40 pi

As regards to persnickety, when I check the dictionary your name comes up?

Old 16-03-06, 16:24   #12

Deb, Amanda here says you're right. Actually, I asked her before I saw your post and she basically said the exact thing.

She says it was used for lists of items against costs, ie:

250 Turnips @ £1.50
66 Anchovies @ £250.26
13 Jockstraps @ 59p

etc, etc....

If that's your shopping list for the Bounce Dinner Party, I'm sorry but I have a prior engagement that night.

Old 16-03-06, 16:25   #13

Naked Chef has a spectacular aura about

Can't I have a gold plated trophy Fun Size Mars Bar mounted on a bit of wood with a wee silvery plaque engraved with an @ and she can have the chocolately one!

....I've taken that too far haven't I........I'll get m' coat.

Why're you not allowed chocolate Bridie?
Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 16:26   #14
An Dún Radge

Originally Posted by blue toon hibby
If that's your shopping list for the Bounce Dinner Party, I'm sorry but I have a prior engagement that night.

It's an auld faaaaaamily recipe.
Old 16-03-06, 16:28   #15
Baradge of fire

Bannox will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Naked Chef
Why're you not allowed chocolate Bridie?
Cause it would melt in the oven

Bannox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 16:33   #16
An Dún Radge

Originally Posted by Bannox
Cause it would melt in the oven
I dunno, sounds like a great idea! Something Scottish to rival all the Easter Eggs. Chocolate Bridies filled with caramel and hazelnuts.... Mmmmmm.

Edit: Not cooked, obviously
Old 16-03-06, 16:37   #17
Baradge of fire

I dunno, sounds like a great idea! Something Scottish to rival all the Easter Eggs. Chocolate Bridies filled with caramel and hazelnuts.... Mmmmmm.

Edit: Not cooked, obviously
Right enough of that

keep it for the bedroom

Old 16-03-06, 16:39   #18
An Dún Radge

Right enough of that

keep it for the bedroom

OY! Ya cheeky Monkey!
Old 16-03-06, 16:43   #19
Baradge of fire

OY! Ya cheeky Monkey!

need to listen to my therapist 'think it dont say it'
'think it dont say it'

Where's the doc

Old 16-03-06, 16:46   #20
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

need to listen to my therapist 'think it dont say it'
'think it dont say it'

Where's the doc
In a cupboard under the stairs i believe

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-06, 17:46   #21

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

A wee peek on the net reveals the @ is known by many different names throughout the world.

The @ is known as the monkey's tail in Germany, Holland, Poland and South Africa.

In France, Italy and Korea it is the little snail.

In Denmark it's the 'a' with an elephant's trunk.

In Hungary it's a worm.

In Norway it's a pig's tail.

In China it's a little mouse.

In Russia it's a dog (!!)

In Sweden it's the cinnamon bun.

In the Czech Republic it's the rolled pickled herring.

In Isreal it's the strudel.

In Finland it's the curled up sleeping cat.

Hampden_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote