Old 15-03-06, 16:00   #1

Boogy is on the way to a first team debut
Radio Stations in the morning...

Following on from the 'music argument' thread previous - what radio station do people listen to from 7am-10am (going to work time?). I have been sticking to the CD's because find the selection piss poor at the moment. From Forth One, Radio 1 et.al it seems to be pointless phone-in competitions and annoying presenters. Listening to Forth One one day last week at about 8am and had to endure 'what can you see from your window - phone in and tell us!'. Some woman proceeded to tell us about the cat sitting on her neighbours fence. Honestly, this is no bullshit!
Can someone help me out? Just want some decent up to date tunes, minimal talking, and no 'how many weetabix have you had?' type phone ins...????
Boogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-06, 16:06   #2
Pure Bawbag Radge

overDrive hasnae upset anyone -yet
Re: Radio Stations in the morning...

Originally Posted by Boogy
Following on from the 'music argument' thread previous - what radio station do people listen to from 7am-10am (going to work time?). I have been sticking to the CD's because find the selection piss poor at the moment. From Forth One, Radio 1 et.al it seems to be pointless phone-in competitions and annoying presenters. Listening to Forth One one day last week at about 8am and had to endure 'what can you see from your window - phone in and tell us!'. Some woman proceeded to tell us about the cat sitting on her neighbours fence. Honestly, this is no bullshit!
Can someone help me out? Just want some decent up to date tunes, minimal talking, and no 'how many weetabix have you had?' type phone ins...????
I usually listen to Talk 107 or Forth 1 so of no use to you (I assume you're not Boogy from Forth 1 then
) - but I listen to these purely for the local traffic information really.

HIBEES!

The Pride of Leith
The Pride of Edinburgh
The Pride of Scotland
The Pride of Britain
overDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-06, 16:07   #3
Workshy Cooncil Radge

PortoHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Quite ironic your slagging Forth One in the mornings with your name
PortoHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-06, 16:09   #4
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

I love music in the mornings also, i gave up too with radio stations because of the rabbiting of DJs who love to hear their voice, Classic FM is the only station i listen to now, not everybodys cup of tea though, and the same problems are creeping in there too.

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-06, 16:12   #5

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

I've listened to a few recently, I used to listen to Chris Moyles because he doesn't play too much music and no ads on Radio 1. He has recently started to get on my nerves for reasons unknown. Unfortunately most of the others are pretty crappy too.

Clyde, Forth, Real, etc. utter crap, loads of adverts, crap music, personality free DJs.

Talk107 - Edinburgh talk show with only English presenters (that I've heard).
Great.

Radio 2 - Terry Wogan, music is MOR/dull but inoffensive, no ads
Great if you like TW.

XFM - New commercial station, took over from Ned106. Dominic Diamond in the morning, music is all Coldplay, Keane etc. with (very) occasional good tunes chucked in. Dominic Diamond one level up the ladder from the other commercial station's presenters.

6 Music - Digital station, the best bar none. Good music, djs are decent, no ads. Only drawback is it's only on digital, so no good for the bus/car/walking etc.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 15-03-06, 16:12   #6

Hibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of light

Like you I tend to listen to CD's. If I need traffic info I listen to Forth 2 only ever in the rush hour and switch off as soon as there is an announcement.Forth 2's Alex Boyd is a real bore.
Hibsean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-06, 16:12   #7

east calder hibby is a jewel in the rougheast calder hibby is a jewel in the rough

I listen to XFM in the morning with Dominic Diamond that man gets away with some sh*t

east calder hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-06, 16:14   #8
Pure Bawbag Radge

Originally Posted by Daddy'O'Hibee
I love music in the mornings also, i gave up too with radio stations because of the rabbiting of DJs who love to hear their voice, Classic FM is the only station i listen to now, not everybodys cup of tea though, and the same problems are creeping in there too.

I enjoy Classic FM and usually listen to it in the house and such like but as I say, I'm kind of stuck with Forth 1 or Talk 107 in the car because of traffic info.

I agree with you though about too much DJ time creeping in. Its bearable if its a woman with a semi-sexi voice (Katie Durham) but when its Mark Goodier, John Suchet or David Mellor

HIBEES!

The Pride of Leith
The Pride of Edinburgh
The Pride of Scotland
The Pride of Britain
Old 15-03-06, 16:16   #9
Pure Bawbag Radge

Originally Posted by hibadelic

Talk107 - Edinburgh talk show with only English presenters (that I've heard).
Great.
I think some of them are that weird breed - Scottish with an English accent. The woman who presents with Simon Pia is apparently Scottish but most definitely sounds like she's from the South of England.

HIBEES!

The Pride of Leith
The Pride of Edinburgh
The Pride of Scotland
The Pride of Britain
Old 15-03-06, 19:54   #10

shandongreen is just really niceshandongreen is just really nice

only listen to talk sport 1089 (alan brazil and beaky)until 10 with a five minute break for the wind up on real radio at 8.15,cant be bothered with same nonsense on forth1 ,real radio,so listen to sport all be it mostly english !!!!!!

SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.
shandongreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-06, 20:07   #11

Count yourselves lucky - I have to listen to BBC Radio Ulster all morning for work

Old 15-03-06, 20:33   #12
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

Unashamed Wake up to Wogan listener (some mornings).

Can't beat the banter and light-hearted fun of that team. The Janet and John stories in particular are marvellous!

'Deadly', Chuffer Dandridge, Donny Gall et al.

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-06, 20:38   #13

CadgeMac is on the way to a first team debut

sometimes listen to forth 1 before i leave but i usually listen to my i pod