Old 10-03-06, 13:19   #1
Time For Action Radge

Sunshine on Leith is on the way to a first team debut
Yer favorite B&W film?

I'm going for four, in order are.....

1 Drama...............On the Waterfront: Brando at his best.

2 Fact.................Schindler's List: Don't think it would have had the same effect if it had been in colour.

3 Masterpiece.......It's A Wonderfull Life: the ultimate 'feel-good' movie.

4 Comedy............ Laurel & Hardy: anyone of them make me laugh.
Sunshine on Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 13:24   #2

CadgeMac is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Yer favorite B&W film?

anything with laurel and hardy
or 'all quiet on the western front', and king kong

Last edited by CadgeMac; 10-03-06 at 13:59.
Old 10-03-06, 13:25   #3

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

It has to be Angels with dirty faces on a rainy monday afternoon eating burnt toast.
Old 10-03-06, 13:43   #4

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

For comedy nobody comes close to Groucho Marx.

Best B&W film without a doubt must be 12 Angry Men.

Hampden_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 13:44   #5

1/ Any Laurel and Hardy film. I'm a huge fan, and i've seen them all loads of times, but they are still the best ever comedy act IMO.

2/ Schindlers List : A Speilberg masterpiece. Brilliant acting, and very powerful. I agree B&W makes it more atmospheric, and it wouldn't have been the same in colour. The scene however when you see the wee girl in red running through the streets, and the next time you see her she is lying dead with the other victims on the truck shows Speilbergs genius at getting the maximum impact with every scene.

3/ Stangers on a Train : I love Hichcock films and this is one of his best.

4/ 12 Angry Men: In my top 3 films of all time along with Ben Hur and the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

5/ Psycho : Another great Hitchcock film.
Old 10-03-06, 13:56   #6
Shit Stirrin Radge

Sean has a spectacular aura about

Some of the best films ever are b/w.

To kill a mockingbird
Young Frankenstein
King Kong
The man who wasn't there
The Hudsucker Proxy
12 angry men

Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 13:59   #7

PILTONSTANY is a jewel in the roughPILTONSTANY is a jewel in the rough

Comedy for me.
Laurel and Hardy,
St Trinians series,
Hancocks Half Hour (though not a film obviously)
A film called "Lucky Jim" which i remember watching years ago when i was ill.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
21 days 4 hours 43 minutes
PILTONSTANY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 14:15   #8
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

All the films mentioned on here are crackers, 12 Angry Men especially.

Also like "The Night of The Hunter", "Paths of Glory" and practically any Film Noir.

For Laurel and Hardy fans if you get the chance have a sketch at this -

...the guy had access to the scripts of their movies and describes jokes that were left out, bits in the movies which aren't in the scripts (so where improvised).

He also says that some of the foriegn versions were funnier, they re-shot the spanish/french/Italian as this was in the days before over-dubs. These were shot after the English versions so they expanded on some of the visual stuff.
Old 10-03-06, 14:17   #9

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

To kill a mockingbird was the first one that came into my head. An absolute masterpiece.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 14:25   #10

Originally Posted by Lord_Notsnooty
All the films mentioned on here are crackers, 12 Angry Men especially.

Also like "The Night of The Hunter", "Paths of Glory" and practically any Film Noir.

For Laurel and Hardy fans if you get the chance have a sketch at this -

...the guy had access to the scripts of their movies and describes jokes that were left out, bits in the movies which aren't in the scripts (so where improvised).

He also says that some of the foriegn versions were funnier, they re-shot the spanish/french/Italian as this was in the days before over-dubs. These were shot after the English versions so they expanded on some of the visual stuff.
laurel and hardy are the greatest comedians ever
went to see a play about them at the royal lyceum, class
Old 10-03-06, 14:35   #11

There are just too many to mention. This was an era when Holiwood created truly great films in sharp contrast to the blockbusters that are preferred today. Just a few of my favourites are:-

Citizen Kane
Casablanca
Rebecca
On the Waterfront
Its a Wonderful Life (Christmas Eve only)
Tunes of Glory (for Auld Reekie)
Waterloo Bridge (real tear jerker)
Rear Window
Battleship Potemkin
Cape Fear (original version)

and thats without going into the cheesy or funny films like The Human Fly,Them! and Marx Bros films.
Old 10-03-06, 15:18   #12
See Who'll Bite Radge

Wolfetone Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Has to be Errol Flynn's "charge of the light brigade". Fictitous as far as historical accuracy goes but nevertheless an entertaining old b+w with a good storyline.
Wolfetone Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 15:30   #13

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

If Jimmy Cagney is in it im watching it.He was the man.
Old 10-03-06, 16:15   #14

gun ainm is on the way to a first team debut

another shout for 12 angry men - only saw it for the first time last year and it blew me a way - brilliant film.
And still they teach you in your school, about those glorious days of rule, and how it's your destiny to be, superior to me, But if you've any kind of mind, you'll see that all human kind, are the children of this earth, and your hate for them will chew you up and spit you out
gun ainm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 16:37   #15

Originally Posted by Wolfetone Hibee
Has to be Errol Flynn's "charge of the light brigade". Fictitous as far as historical accuracy goes but nevertheless an entertaining old b+w with a good storyline.
yeah thats a great film
Old 10-03-06, 16:38   #16

Originally Posted by Colr
Battleship Potemkin
Have you listened to the most up to date sountrack?

It's excellent.
Old 10-03-06, 17:06   #17
SCOOTER Radge

hoagy boy is on the way to a first team debut

Night of the hunter

Cape fear...Mitchum is a god
Hobsons choice...Charles Laughton stars

Btw Laughton directed Night of the Hunter.
Psyco still scares me yet

........Ian Mculloch
hoagy boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 17:09   #18

Originally Posted by Smurf
Have you listened to the most up to date sountrack?

It's excellent.

no.

i've got it on video but it was the versio before they found the end section with the red flag
Old 10-03-06, 17:36   #19
Dance it off Radge

taxidriver is on the way to a first team debut

on the waterfront or the hustler
where he was wakin' up,
she dropped a coin into the cup of a blind man at the gate,
and forgot about a simple twist of fate.
taxidriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 17:37   #20

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

The Last Picture Show. Screenplay was by Larry McMurty who did Brokeback Mountain.
Old 10-03-06, 17:39   #21

Hibbie0762 is on the way to a first team debut

Casablanca.
Old 10-03-06, 18:20   #22
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

A Touch of Evil, the opening scenes are pure brillance.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 18:24   #23

Originally Posted by DaddyK
HAROLD LLOYD, quality from HArold and an excellent sig tune
Cheers.

Now the tune is reverberating in my heid..

SUPERB THOUGH..
Old 10-03-06, 18:59   #24
Baradge of fire