Old 01-03-06, 19:18   #1
Arty Radge

Bridie is on the way to a first team debut
The Nations Favourite......

Vote vote vote for the Nations Favourite Public Information Film.

I'm Swithering between Charley Says and "Come on Dave, let's swim I say"(Teenagers Learn to Swim)

Some glaring omissions though:
Furry rug on the slippy floor becoming a leg-chomping man trap.
Old wifey on a shooglie chair changing light bulbs.

What's your favourite and why?
Old 01-03-06, 19:29   #2

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about
Re: The Nations Favourite......

Protect and Survive. Hilarious... and yet so sinister.

I've got my fallout room all ready, white painted the windaes and everything.

"If there is no solid cover, lie flat in a ditch or a hole, and cover your head face and your hands as fast as you can with some of your clothes..." Or alternatively put your head between your legs and kiss your ass goodbye.
Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 19:50   #3
Saintee's Radge

part/time supporter is on the way to a first team debut

Hale & Pace's rubber chicken.

Must have been the only funny thing they ever did.

The drowning one is terrifying.

Jimmy Saville advising 'you ladies' to wear your seatbelts (presumably because women are shit drivers).

part/time supporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 22:14   #4

Originally Posted by DaddyK
In event of Nuclear War.

Yon is a stoatir. When 100 megaton nuclear bomb looks set to go off in an urban area near you. Go under the stairs, into th stair cupboard, take water and put things like blankets and carpets against the windows.

Those of you living in high rise flats, have absolutely nae chance. In fact if you don't have a nuclear bunker, yer goosed. Ta ta until the next lifetime

Old 01-03-06, 23:15   #5
An Dún Radge

Scoobie will become famous soon enough

Haven't looked at the link yet, but I do remember the 'Bedtime Routine' 'Think once, think twice, think BIKE!' & one about two kids playing frisbee in a sub-powerstation. Like, if you actually would? I particularly remember that one, cos there was one up the road from where I grew up. That alone made me not buy frisbees!
Scoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 23:20   #6

Originally Posted by Scoobie
Haven't looked at the link yet, but I do remember the 'Bedtime Routine' 'Think once, think twice, think BIKE!' & one about two kids playing frisbee in a sub-powerstation. Like, if you actually would? I particularly remember that one, cos there was one up the road from where I grew up. That alone made me not buy frisbees!

The one with the cricket bat , jam & breeze block was better , who did that was it the Young Ones ???
Old 01-03-06, 23:21   #7

I liked "Snatch of the day", the one about Pickpockets on Picadilly Circus. Great fun looking back on these classics, I used to crease masel when they came on. Bring them back !!
Old 01-03-06, 23:21   #8
An Dún Radge

Ahhh, the Bike and Frisbee ones were there on that list. Not Bedtime Routine. Nevermind.

I voted for Think once, think twice, think BIKE!!!!! Ya radges!
Old 01-03-06, 23:23   #9
An Dún Radge

Originally Posted by Forzahibs
The one with the cricket bat , jam & breeze block was better , who did that was it the Young Ones ???
Naw, you're thinking of Not the Nine O'Clock news where they did a parady. Turned out it had a good effect, actually.
Old 02-03-06, 10:13   #10

Originally Posted by Bridie

I'm Swithering between Charley Says and "Come on Dave, let's swim I say"(Teenagers Learn to Swim)

If as many people voted for their gvernment and Councils as do for these shitty opinions polls we would have a more representative democracy.

That said:-

"Excuse me, sir,
May I enquire,
But isn't that your house on fire?"

Last edited by Colr; 02-03-06 at 10:49.
Colr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-06, 12:56   #11

Jumbo is on the way to a first team debut

Used to like Rolf Harris' learn to swim film, iirc something about him falling in a canal as a youngster, but the one with Dave who kept "losing his birds" was not bad
Jumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-06, 14:33   #12
Radge-o-tron

Marchmont Hibs is on the way to a first team debut

Don't let an old fridge be a new danger to children.

(Man appears with hammer)

Take off the door, or smash the lock, or better still, ask your local council to take it away or tell you how to dispose of it... before it kills a child!!

Marchmont Hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-06, 16:47   #13
An Dún Radge

Originally Posted by Marchmont Hibs
before it kills a child!!
The new Daleks!

REFRIDGERATE! REFRIDGERATE!
Old 02-03-06, 18:05   #14
Radge-o-tron

Marchmont Hibs is on the way to a first team debut

The new Daleks!

REFRIDGERATE! REFRIDGERATE!

Marchmont Hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-06, 22:13   #15
Ali
Clash City Radger

Ali is on the way to a first team debut

Naw, you're thinking of Not the Nine O'Clock news where they did a parady. Turned out it had a good effect, actually.
Hmmm. I seem to remember it as being on the Young Ones too. "Think Once, Think Twice, Think Don't Drive Your Car On The Pavement".
Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-06, 00:35   #16
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge

hibbyharp1875 will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Bridie

learn to swim ! absolute 70's classic for me

hibbyharp1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-06, 10:42   #17

Originally Posted by Ali
Hmmm. I seem to remember it as being on the Young Ones too. "Think Once, Think Twice, Think Don't Drive Your Car On The Pavement".
Thats the one

Old 04-03-06, 11:48   #18

For sure, those are the Goliaths of the public information film.

But in NI we David: the Health Promotion Agency, kings of the daft patronising advert.

We've had one with a catchy [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] ("walking, that's what to do, yeah go walking, it's good for you") and another one which told us that more than three pints was 'binge drinking'

(PS - Humour failure alert: It would be funny if my f**king NI taxes hadn't paid for this worthless, bedwetting, nanny state sh1te.)

Old 04-03-06, 11:58   #19

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby
("walking, that's what to do, yeah go walking, it's good for you"
Was that a campaign against knee-capping?

I'll get my coat.
Old 04-03-06, 12:00   #20

Originally Posted by Colr
Was that a campaign against knee-capping?

I'll get my coat.

Nup - and it isn't an advert for the Orange Order either

Old 04-03-06, 12:10   #21

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby

Nup - and it isn't an advert for the Orange Order either

Old 04-03-06, 19:22   #22

Originally Posted by DaddyK
My third worst joke ever:

What's an orangemans favourite month?

MARCH

Like the Orange Lodge Calander.

It goes January, February, MARCH, MARCH, MARCH, MARCH....