The Last Radge
My trip to the bus shelter...
Ok, here's a wee story about my exploits last week.
I've just returned to the 'burgh after living in japan for about a six month spell. Anyway, a young lady friend of mine from tokyo came to visit last week. We went out on the lash to a few places and I took her to some of the tourist sights. She said she wanted to see a football game. I told her I was a hibs fan and gave her a brief history of scottish football. She didn't realise how seriously we take it here. In japan, people generally only shout positive things to motivate the team which sounds a bit pants in my mind, no banter. Hibs of course were playing the huns and tickets had sold out so that option wasn't happening. I suppose we could have gone to see livi or dunfermline or even spartans. However, as much as it pained me, hearts were playing motherwell at home and that was the most convenient. she's a student so it only cost her a fiver, mine was a tenner. the only positive thing i'll ever say about hearts is that it's cheap. It would have to be considering how gash the game we witnessed truly was. The last time I went to tynecastle was over ten years ago. I can't begin to put into words the pervading wrongness of the place. It reminds me of a cross between shelbyville in the simpsons and the jim rose circus. I certainly saw some "special" people. The game got under way and scott mcdonald hit the post after a couple of minutes. I leapt out of my seat and had to quickly remind myself that I was in with the filth. It all went downhill from there though. My friend was laughing at the sickened look on my face as the first two goals went in. I was sitting on my hands in stony silence wishing that hibs had been playing at home this weekend. Still, it was cheaper than going to the zoo. She learned some interesting phrases too, and I suppose it was good to show her the dark side on the off chance that she would ever get to see hibs. It would provide a stark contrast between the forces of good and evil. A few things to say about the match. Rudi Skacel is a cheating bastard, diving all over the place, this was my first time to see him in the flesh so i'm just catching up on what everyone knows. The game was pish poor, nothing compared to flowing football that tony mowbray has brought to easter road. So, it was an interesting experience. I'll be getting a hibs season ticket next season now that i'm back. I'll certainly never be sitting in the home end at tynecastle again in my life. I gave 10 pounds to that club and i'll take that shame to my grave. The happy postscript to the story was that when I was out the other day the girl whacked on the old green and white and snapped a few pics of herself. This is one of the ones I can show, the others are a wee bit saucier. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2003
Re: My trip to the bus shelter...
looks a pretty girl To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Re: My trip to the bus shelter...
She looks lovely mate.
I've had a few visitors over from Japan since I was there and I took one of them to the Hibs Club where she met Kevin Thomson and Scott Brown at a POTY do. She taught them how to swear in Japanese, very useful. Cheers |