Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Information Forums > Angels High Above

Angels High Above This is a tribute forum, for Bouncers who've lost someone close to them and want to pay a tribute to them, as well as remember their passing.

Closed Thread

Old 13-02-07, 13:55   #1
Time For Action Radge

Sunshine on Leith is on the way to a first team debut
25 years ago today: Mark McGhee RIP

13/02/1982, was one of the worse days of my life. It was the day when the Liberton Travel supporters bus set off to Dundee for a Scottish cup tie againsd Dundee Utd.

At around 2pm the Double Decker coach which was taking the 70 of us to the game overturned on the M90 just a few miles before Perth. later on that day it was announced that 18 year old Mark McGhee had died.

Although I knew Mark briefly he was a mate of my brother Bob. He was actually sitting beside Bob at the time of the accident.

I do remember Mark being a real bubbly guy he was a big 2-tone fan in fact his nickname was Rudy. You always seen Mark with his 3 buttoned suit and always wore a 'pork-pie' hat.

As you can imagine there was a massive turn out at Mark's funeral. Included in the mourners were a large contingent from Hibernian FC, players , directors and the manager at the time Bertie Auld.
Old 13-02-07, 14:10   #2

westburnhibby is on the way to a first team debut
Re: 25 years ago today: Mark McGhee RIP

My thoughts are with his family R.I.P.
Old 13-02-07, 16:38   #3

EdinCapitals is on the way to a first team debut

RIP Mark.

I lost a pal George many years (on his way to see Hibs in Belgium - can't remember if it was the Leige 89 or Anderlecht 92 match). George and another lad fell to their death from an Edinburgh-London train when the door they were sat next to flew open. They had a joint funeral that was very well attended, and emotional. I can recall Dougie Cromb and Ian Brennan being there.

The terrible lies and assumptions made by the Edinburgh Evening News when they initially reported the incident resulted in me and many pals boycotting the paper for a few years. They immediately made stereotyped assumptions about football fans, alcohol etc - assumptions that were completely unfounded.

I've tried to visit George's grave at Piersfield Cemetary, but had no luck finding it given the size of the place.

RIP George
Old 13-02-07, 18:28   #4

5-2@ER is on the way to a first team debut

Although the accident was 25 years ago it is still very clear in my memory.
You'r still in my thoughts mark(rudy).
Bob and Family.
Old 13-02-07, 20:10   #5

k.manson is on the way to a first team debut

RIP Mark.

I lost a pal George many years (on his way to see Hibs in Belgium - can't remember if it was the Leige 89 or Anderlecht 92 match). George and another lad fell to their death from an Edinburgh-London train when the door they were sat next to flew open. They had a joint funeral that was very well attended, and emotional. I can recall Dougie Cromb and Ian Brennan being there.

The terrible lies and assumptions made by the Edinburgh Evening News when they initially reported the incident resulted in me and many pals boycotting the paper for a few years. They immediately made stereotyped assumptions about football fans, alcohol etc - assumptions that were completely unfounded.

I've tried to visit George's grave at Piersfield Cemetary, but had no luck finding it given the size of the place.

RIP George

anderlecht mate........ r.i.p all
Old 13-02-07, 21:31   #6
Mod Radge

mod4ever is on the way to a first team debut

meet mark at many a two-tone gig became quite close mates (a message to you rudy)always with us r.i.p aka speacials
Old 13-02-07, 23:02   #7

I didn't know Mark, but I remember arriving at that game at Tannadice and being told that the Liberton Travel bus had crashed, and someone had been killed. Couldn't really concentrate on the game after hearing that as the guys family kept coming into my head.

Awful day.

RIP Mark.
Old 13-02-07, 23:19   #8

Yorkhibby is on the way to a first team debut

His sister was in my class at school and I say a wee prayer for him every time I go round that horrible bend on the way to Perth. RIP
Old 15-02-07, 01:58   #9

Didn't know him but RIP

Old 15-02-07, 19:18   #10
Time For Action Radge

Sunshine on Leith is on the way to a first team debut

Words beggar belief Andy.

I know you mean well but as the title says it was 25 years ago.
Old 18-02-07, 12:24   #11

mick55 is on the way to a first team debut

Liberton Travel was never the same after that day was sitting a few seats behind Mark.RIP
Old 18-02-07, 13:19   #12

Hogg4Captain is on the way to a first team debut

My dad was also on that bus he was reading this today and he said its hard to Believe it was 25 years ago RIP
Old 19-02-07, 17:45   #13

ERIN HIBEE is on the way to a first team debut

Liberton Travel was my bus for years and i missed it by a couple of minutes that day and went up to Dundee with Edinburgh West branch, when we got there it was a horrible feeling in the ground when the news filtered through
RIP Mark you are always remembered
Old 24-02-07, 18:02   #14

Ooh Zemmama is on the way to a first team debut

Just wanted to say thank you to everyone for their kinds words on the 25th anniversary of Marks death. Mark was my big cousin and it really means a lot to the family that he is still remembered after so long!

Nick Grassick
Old 26-02-08, 21:14   #15
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

RIP Mark. That was an awful day.
Old 28-02-08, 20:26   #16

hibeesbounceross is on the way to a first team debut

Rip

Found seated under the Gantry.
Closed Thread

HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Information Forums > Angels High Above