Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Information Forums > Angels High Above

Angels High Above This is a tribute forum, for Bouncers who've lost someone close to them and want to pay a tribute to them, as well as remember their passing.

Closed Thread

Old 07-03-05, 19:06   #1

Andy Aitken

FORMER Hibs star Andy Aitken, the hero of the club’s run to the Scottish Cup final of 1958, has died in Edinburgh at the age of 70

Aitken was singled out for "special attention" by opponents Clyde in the final such had been his form in the previous cup rounds including an epic semi-final replay against Rangers and finished the match, which Hibs lost 1-0, heavily strapped and a virtual passenger.

Signed from Edinburgh Emmett in 1955, Aitken was recommended to Hibs by Manchester United’s legendary manager Sir Matt Busby.

He scored 20 goals in 51 matches for Hibs and was transferred to West Bromwich Albion for £8000 in 1959 before returning to finish his career in Scotland.

This news was given to me yesterday by my Dad, who described Andy as his all-time best mate. Andy and my Dad used to work together(heating engineers) and done a lot of 'partying' together too. He always spoke highly of Andy, how good a player he was, as well as a dancer.
Yesterday, my Dad showed myself and Greenman pictures of Andy which are on the walls in the Cabbage, and related the story of how Andy was 'kicked off the park' in the '58 Cup Final and he had to stroll up and down the right wing cos there was no subs in those days. He also provided the cross for Joe Baker's 'goal ' in that Final, but it never counted cos Joe punched the ball into the net.

They spent a lot of their younger years doing the rounds in the top Edinburgh dance halls off the time, Stewarts, The Palais, etc. My Dad was on a night out with Andy when he started dating my Mum.

I had the pleasure of meeting Andy a few years ago on a job I was on in Bathgate. He recognised me right away as 'Wullie's laddie' "I used to visit your hoose every New Year for your Dads pairties, son, Me and yer Dad were always the last ones standin' every time"

Andy's funeral will be held later this week and our thoughts are with his family at this time.

Rest in Peace Andy

Old 07-03-05, 19:18   #2

derek07 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Andy Aitken

Originally Posted by Gunnerhibby
FORMER Hibs star Andy Aitken, the hero of the club’s run to the Scottish Cup final of 1958, has died in Edinburgh at the age of 70

Aitken was singled out for "special attention" by opponents Clyde in the final such had been his form in the previous cup rounds including an epic semi-final replay against Rangers and finished the match, which Hibs lost 1-0, heavily strapped and a virtual passenger.

Signed from Edinburgh Emmett in 1955, Aitken was recommended to Hibs by Manchester United’s legendary manager Sir Matt Busby.

He scored 20 goals in 51 matches for Hibs and was transferred to West Bromwich Albion for £8000 in 1959 before returning to finish his career in Scotland.

This news was given to me yesterday by my Dad, who described Andy as his all-time best mate. Andy and my Dad used to work together(heating engineers) and done a lot of 'partying' together too. He always spoke highly of Andy, how good a player he was, as well as a dancer.
Yesterday, my Dad showed myself and Greenman pictures of Andy which are on the walls in the Cabbage, and related the story of how Andy was 'kicked off the park' in the '58 Cup Final and he had to stroll up and down the right wing cos there was no subs in those days. He also provided the cross for Joe Baker's 'goal ' in that Final, but it never counted cos Joe punched the ball into the net.

They spent a lot of their younger years doing the rounds in the top Edinburgh dance halls off the time, Stewarts, The Palais, etc. My Dad was on a night out with Andy when he started dating my Mum.

I had the pleasure of meeting Andy a few years ago on a job I was on in Bathgate. He recognised me right away as 'Wullie's laddie' "I used to visit your hoose every New Year for your Dads pairties, son, Me and yer Dad were always the last ones standin' every time"

Andy's funeral will be held later this week and our thoughts are with his family at this time.

Rest in Peace Andy

RIP Andy sad to hear of the loss of yet another good Hibby player/supporter
Old 07-03-05, 19:22   #3

©stretch is a jewel in the rough©stretch is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Gunnerhibby

Rest in Peace Andy

Nice tribute Colin

RIP Andy

Old 07-03-05, 20:33   #4

Originally Posted by stretch
Nice tribute Colin

RIP Andy

As I was born in '58, and the way my Auld Man talks about Andy, I reckon Andy's performances for Hibs were probably the inspiration my Dad needed for my conception.

Old 07-03-05, 20:46   #5

©stretch is a jewel in the rough©stretch is a jewel in the rough

I'll need tae ask my auld man about Andy Aitken He was at that final in 58 but I canny remember him talking about Andy Aitken.

A good year 58 eh?

Old 07-03-05, 20:49   #6

Originally Posted by stretch
I'll need tae ask my auld man about Andy Aitken He was at that final in 58 but I canny remember him talking about Andy Aitken.

A good year 58 eh?

Andy was a right midfielder, or inside-forward, as they were called then

'58 vintage year

Old 07-03-05, 21:03   #7

Strangely enough I was having a drink with my Dad on Friday night, and he was talking about that '58 Final which he was at with his mate. He said that Andy Aitken was probably our best player at that time, and Clyde kicked him off the park. It was a strange irony that I read about Andy's death in the news the next day.

RIP Andy.
Old 07-03-05, 21:06   #8

bennyk is on the way to a first team debut

IIRC the No 8 jersey had been a problem for us in 1958. In an early round we beat Hearts 4-3 with Joe Baker scoring 4 and John Grant a full back played at inside forward . We then beat Third Lanark at ER 3-2 and drew Rangers in the semis. Andy Aitken had been playing on the left wing in the reserves and Hugh Shaw the manager gave the No 8 jersey to him for the semi. Andy repaid him by scoring the opening goal ,he may have scored the other in a 2-2 draw(can any stattos confirm) He played again in the replay when goals from John Fraser and an Eddie Turnbull penalty gave us a 2-1 win . Rangers actually equalised in the 90 th minute with a goal from Ralph Brand,the ref gave the goal but the linesman spotted that Brand had punched the ball in. Surprisingly the decision was reversed and the Hibs went through. It all went wrong in the final ,losing to Clyde with a Baker goal disallowed for hands.Andy Aitken however was very much the hero of the first semi .
Old 07-03-05, 21:53   #9

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Bennyk, it was Tommy Preston who scored the other goal in the 2-2 draw.

Scanned from the 1957/58 handbook.

His autograph in the esteemed company of Reilly, Turnbull, Ormond and Baker.
Old 07-03-05, 22:15   #10

bennyk is on the way to a first team debut

Thanks Hampden Hibbie. The 2-2 draw v Rangers was my first ever visit to Hampden. My father took me in the Huns supporters bus! Iwas at replay as well .My father was working (it was on a Wednesday afternoon )and he got a Hun to take me.I remember the guy never spoke to me all the way home because we had won.
Old 09-03-05, 10:53   #11
Restalrig Radge

xhibs is on the way to a first team debut

My Uncle was at the final. He has recounted the story of Aitken many times. AItken was the danger man, down the wing, because of his speed. Clyde apparently "done" Aitken very very early on in the match (might have been his first touch). He had to stay on the pitch and hobbled about for the rest of the match.

HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Information Forums > Angels High Above