Old 19-02-08, 16:31   #8
Stirlinghibee
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough
Re: Anyone Got any of This "Rubbish"?

Nope I dont. However I was struck recently by the thought that whenever I change my toothbrush (an ordinary plastic manual - move yer arm to clean yer teeth job) I change the entire thing.. bristles and handle..and it's all plastic...
Why has no-one come up with a way to simply replace the head (a bit like razors) and re-use the handle? Less to landfill!

Thought it might be a go-er, especially if there was agreement on a "universal" fitting for handles that would allow all heads to attach to all handles..

Posh folk could even have solid gold toothbrush handles (if it floated their boat) and they'd only have to replace a wee plastic bit on the end with the bristles in it...

Do you think the dragons den would give me money to develop my idea? (or have I just blown it by going public on here?)

Save the planet and all that!!!
Guys , a bit of insider knowledge here.

"Secondary operations" ie getting someone to screw the head together would cost far more than the single operation two step overmoulding of the ABS terpolymer and the TPO elastomer which constitutes a single toothbrush.

The bristles are FDA CFR21 approved PA 6.6 semi crystalline ETP, so they would not be easy recycled with the amporphous polymer that make up the body, again without secondary ops.

However, your idea is enviromentally sound, and I commend you.

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote