Ron Brown RIP (Former Leith MP and Lifelong Hibee)
I heard that Ron Brown, the former Labour MP for Leith, passed away this morning. For those too young to mind him, he was an old school socialist, a working class guy who served his apprenticeship as a welder at Parson Peebles (I think it was), and came into politics as an activist rather than one of them yuppies that passes for Labour these days.
I liked Ron, he was definitely a man of the people, and a wee bit of a rascal. Mind he got pissed one night at Westminster and chucked the ceremonial mace on the floor of the Houses of Parliament. Then said he kent a welder who could fix it cost price. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
He wasnt too repentant either when the media tried to crucify him. His response was to appear in a Bananarama video on Top of the Pops playing a mace like a guitar. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
He was even mates with Gorbachev and Gaddaffi. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
And he was a proud Hibee.
Aye, they dinnae make them like Ron Brown anymore.
RIP