View Single Post
Old 26-07-07, 11:48   #16
oo2beahibby
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Thanks Rock Steady

Companies will pay Hibs good money for advertising, this money will ultimately have a bearing on bringing players in and the type of wages we can pay.

If you want to call it petty then you have obviously never been involved in marketing a company and the amount of hard work and the cost involved to try and get your company promoted.

If the club let someone cover up an advert I'd paid a lot of money I'd be going ballistic, and looking for the money spent to be fully refunded.

Surely most fans, with flags, must realise that they cant obstruct advertising boards by now?

Apparently, according to another thread, the steward was given a torrent of abuse for simply doing her job. Now, if true, that would be out of order.

Stevie, whilst you're absolutely right in what you say, the attitude of stewards towards paying customers can very often be the difference between a peaceful resolution and the start of world war 3. Although last night's game didn't fall into the 'powder keg' category (far from it), all it takes is for an aggressive steward to wind up someone the wrong way in such an atmosphere, then his or her mates kick off and before you can say erza macaroon bars, there is the unnecessary situation of a crowd of wound up fans ganging up against a steward who is acting way out with the bounds of his job description, which is first and foremost to ensure the safety of fans. I appreciate there are other elements to what must be a difficult job at times, but the fact remains that a calm approach is by far the best one.

As an example, one half time a couple of years ago, I was in the concourse at the upper West wi' the bairns, who were playing tig barely five yards from me, and bothering absolutely no-one. Next thing I know a steward comes up to them and starts bollocking them with a really aggressive attitude for 'annoying other people'. Which was, of course, utter mince. I went up to him (calmly, of course) and said that I heard him speaking to anyone like that again, let alone my own children, I'd remove his head from his shoulders. A 'sorry pal, I didn't want them knocking over any hot drinks' excuse quickly followed. By then I'd calmed doon a wee bit, and explained to him that if he'd said that to the kids in the same tone as he'd just spoken to me, then fair enough, but the fact he'd spoken to them like a piece of dirt was totally unnecessary and caused more upset than the crime that they weren't committing in the first place.

The old addage of 'treat people the way you'd like to be treated yourself' should be top of the training agenda. That way, we'll avoid threads like this is in the future.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is online now   Reply With Quote