View Single Post
Old 25-07-07, 17:51   #16
emerald green

emerald green will become famous soon enough
Re: Embra Football

Why, in a city the size of Edinburgh (population higher than Liverpool) do we have such a mince turn out for our teams, can we blame it all on the Infirm? Were we both (Hibs & Hertz) just not successful enough on the European stage in the 60s & 70s to create a larger historic fanbase outwith Embra? Still doesn't explain the low attendances at home matches, I suppose. Is it just a general feeling in Scotland that our football isn't worth watching? I mean, even the most dull EPL matches are made to look phenominal on Sky making the average/armchair fan proud (and possibly deluded) as to the standard of football they've just watch and therefore the stature of his club and then therefore meaning that they're much happier to be associated with said club (?). Could be pish. Ach, it'll just be the fact that naeb'dy wins anything on a regular basis out with the Infirm. Yep, they're to blame.
I've read (on this board) that there is something like 7,000 ST holder for darkheid with an EH post code - not sure if this is fact. To be honest I think most people get 'tired' and 'worn out' by the continued OF dominance. Look at the stats for Scotland, even from the end of WW2. Hibs and Rangers basically were top two for a few years - celtic went something like 13years without winning a league - then Stein came along and transformed them. The yams had a team for a few years - terrible trio time, who underachieved. Hibs had another team in the early 70s who underachieved. Ned sorted out the sheep for a few years very early 70s - won a cup. You then have to rotate forward to the (ahem) New Firm. IIRC the sheep under ferguson are the only team to do a double since WW2 outwith Rantic.

Theses are from the top of my head, so i may be out here or there. but you ask people in their 50s and 60s regarding Rantic getting everythin and they'll tell you its always been that way.

Personally - I dont mind a particular team dominating - it happens in EVERY country (EG Man Utd have won more premierships than the rest of england put together). What gets to me up here is the 1 rule for Rantic and another for everyone else, ably backed up by the Glasgow press. They are basically allowed to cheat. The huns could put the shitest team in the world out and they would still get 2nd place in our league. A team is hardly going to beat them when the eg linesman is a fully paid up flute tootin' lodge member. Honks I tell ye
emerald green is offline   Reply With Quote